DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-23 22:12:17

deltaflyer4747
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 5

Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

I bought this device few weeks ago and the first thing i wished was i could get "inside".

Well, thanks to the great fonz and his fun-plug i was able to do so. But there are some obstacles we need to cross.

The first thing is to download most recent fun-plug init script and the fun-plug package itself. Place both files as they are into the root folder of the drive in the lowest bay. Normally you should place drives in this unit from bottom to top, but in some cases you receive a unit with a single drive (eg 1x1TB version) loaded in top bay. The lowest drive will be internally named as HD_a, second HD_b up to HD_d.

Right now we have those two files in the root folder of our bottom drive, but we need to rename the init script. Select file fun_plug (without .tgz!) and rename it to es_plug. After that you have to reboot your device by any means - via web interface or with a power switch. After the reboot you should have telnet access enabled, the fun_plug.tgz we uploaded should dissapear and instead of it there should be folder named ffp.

For configuring etc you can follow THIS manual, but in my case i found another obstacle. The store-password.sh script is not working. I have two drives in the unit and the problem is, that the unit calls the init script from the lowest drive, but keeps settings on the first drive - eg in my case the top one. Thus i need to modify the files manually via accessing them directly on /mnt/HD_b4/.systemfile/ ...

This complies to the 2.00 firmware. Now i am going to upgrade to 2.50 and report any changes...

Offline

 

#2 2009-10-23 22:13:27

deltaflyer4747
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

Reserved for future info

Offline

 

#3 2009-10-27 12:58:11

quiksilv
New member
Registered: 2009-10-27
Posts: 4

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

Is the EasyStore confirmed to be identical to the DNS-343 ?

Offline

 

#4 2009-11-07 13:34:00

joshuah
Member
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

Hi,

I have the 4x HDD version of easystore, but i cant seem to get it to work.. telnet wont enable itself ..

I renamed the file to es_plug etc.. and made sure that there is the installation compressed file etc...

maybe its a wrong configuration? i am just ensure which drive to allocate in the config file? what should the setting be? it appears that every tutorial i have read, its people saying they only have one drive??

Can someone please help??

Thanks

Offline

 

#5 2009-11-07 14:14:50

deltaflyer4747
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

Make sure you placed BOTH files on the bottom most drive. Also, try it with HD_a2 and HD_a4 in the es_plug (HD_a2 worked for me).

Offline

 

#6 2009-11-07 14:26:15

joshuah
Member
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

deltaflyer4747 wrote:

Make sure you placed BOTH files on the bottom most drive. Also, try it with HD_a2 and HD_a4 in the es_plug (HD_a2 worked for me).

Sorry i just need to confirm one thing (sorry for my ignorance, I am using RAID 5) how would i place files in individual drives?

Offline

 

#7 2009-11-07 14:28:38

joshuah
Member
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

deltaflyer4747 wrote:

Make sure you placed BOTH files on the bottom most drive. Also, try it with HD_a2 and HD_a4 in the es_plug (HD_a2 worked for me).

Sorry, one more question;  do you mean both in the one config, or try one at a time

btw, the easystore f/w is v2.5 does that matter?

# write a log, in case sth goes wrong
FFP_LOG=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp.log
FFP_LOG=/mnt/HD_a4/ffp.log

# real path to ffp
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a4/ffp

# where to search for the install tarball
FFP_TARBALL=/mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.tgz
FFP_TARBALL=/mnt/HD_a4/fun_plug.tgz



# setup script (used for ffp on USB disk)
FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT=/mnt/HD_a2/.bootstrap/setup.sh
FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT=/mnt/HD_a4/.bootstrap/setup.sh

Offline

 

#8 2009-11-07 18:25:27

deltaflyer4747
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

you have modify all FOUR in the config together to same value and only ONE value for each of them.

so mine looks like:

FFP_LOG=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp.log
#FFP_LOG=/dev/null
exec >>$FFP_LOG 2>&1

# real path to ffp
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp

# where to search for the install tarball
FFP_TARBALL=/mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.tgz

# setup script (used for ffp on USB disk)
FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT=/mnt/HD_a2/.bootstrap/setup.sh

Offline

 

#9 2009-11-07 23:59:48

joshuah
Member
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

deltaflyer4747 wrote:

you have modify all FOUR in the config together to same value and only ONE value for each of them.

i just want to confirm, are you using the RAID5 config or which raid are you running?

Offline

 

#10 2009-11-08 00:00:55

deltaflyer4747
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

none, standalone drives.

Offline

 

#11 2009-11-08 11:57:29

joshuah
Member
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 5

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

deltaflyer4747 wrote:

none, standalone drives.

oh there you go, iam running 4x hdds in raid 5 config..

has anyone confirmed if this is possible?

Offline

 

#12 2009-11-12 19:18:39

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

joshuah wrote:

oh there you go, iam running 4x hdds in raid 5 config..

has anyone confirmed if this is possible?

I didn't test it myself, but I've been told it works. With RAID5, the path is /mnt/HD_a2.

Offline

 

#13 2009-12-09 00:25:44

kdw
New member
Registered: 2009-12-09
Posts: 2

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

I set up fun_plug on my new EasyStore with firmware 2.5 in the way described here. At this moment I only use 1 HDD, but I plan to upgrade this week.

After installing es_plug, telnet may be used wihtout any login, I do not need any username nor password. When setting up a root password in the way described in and starting the ssh-deamon, I am able to log in using user root and the given password via ssh. After rebooting the machine, the ssh server is started, but I am not able to log in using the created user. Therefor I believe, that store-password.sh does not save the passwords in a proper way on this device.

Maybe anyone got experience with that?

Offline

 

#14 2009-12-09 09:40:16

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

You need a different store-passwd.sh script for the dns-343:
http://nas-tweaks.net/CH3SNAS:Store-passwd.sh

Offline

 

#15 2009-12-09 21:48:24

easystorage
New member
Registered: 2009-12-09
Posts: 2

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

Hello All,

i own a easystore with 4 x500gb, RAID1,

I copied the renamed es_plug to Volume 1.

These is the script:
#!/bin/sh

# switch to safe working directory on ramdisk
cd /

# write a log, in case sth goes wrong
FFP_LOG=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp.log
#FFP_LOG=/dev/null
exec >>$FFP_LOG 2>&1

# real path to ffp
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp

# where to search for the install tarball
FFP_TARBALL=/mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.tgz

# setup script (used for ffp on USB disk)
FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT=/mnt/HD_a2/.bootstrap/setup.sh

# rc file path
FFP_RC=/ffp/etc/rc


echo "**** fun_plug script for DNS-323 (2008-08-11 tp@fonz.de) ****"
date


# check for setup script. an example use for this is to load USB
# kernel modules and mount a USB storage device. The script is
# sourced, that means you can change variables, e.g. FFP_PATH to point
# to the USB device.
if [ -x $FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT ]; then
    echo "* Running $FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT ..."
    . $FFP_SETUP_SCRIPT
fi

# create /ffp link
echo "ln -snf $FFP_PATH /ffp"
ln -snf $FFP_PATH /ffp

# install tarball
if [ -r $FFP_TARBALL ]; then
    echo "* Installing $FFP_TARBALL ..."
    mkdir -p $FFP_PATH && tar xzf $FFP_TARBALL -C $FFP_PATH && /ffp/bin/tar xzf $FFP_TARBALL -C $FFP_PATH
    if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
        echo "* OK"
    fi
    rm $FFP_TARBALL
fi

# suid busybox
if [ -x /ffp/bin/busybox ]; then
    chown root.root /ffp/bin/busybox
    chmod 0755 /ffp/bin/busybox
    chmod u+s /ffp/bin/busybox
fi

# run fun_plug.init, if present
if [ -x /ffp/etc/fun_plug.init ]; then
    echo "* Running /ffp/etc/fun_plug.init ..."
    /ffp/etc/fun_plug.init
fi

# run fun_plug.local, if present
if [ -x /ffp/etc/fun_plug.local ]; then
    echo "* Running /ffp/etc/fun_plug.local ..."
    /ffp/etc/fun_plug.local
fi

# run commands
if [ -x $FFP_RC ]; then
    echo "* Running $FFP_RC ..."
    $FFP_RC
    echo "*  OK"
else
    echo "$FFP_RC: Not found or not executable"
fi

also copied the fun_plug.tgz to the same folder. After all I restarted the Nas and i was able to communicate (telnet) with the easystore nas. As i checked the ffp.log i wondered about all the messages so that something has gone wrong....
here is a part of the log file:
**** fun_plug script for DNS-323 (2008-08-11 tp@fonz.de) ****
Tue Dec  8 00:15:08 EET 2009
ln -snf /mnt/HD_a4/ffp /ffp
/ffp/etc/rc: Not found or not executable
**** fun_plug script for DNS-323 (2008-08-11 tp@fonz.de) ****
Tue Dec  8 00:21:01 EET 2009
ln -snf /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp
/ffp/etc/rc: Not found or not executable
**** fun_plug script for DNS-323 (2008-08-11 tp@fonz.de) ****
Tue Dec  8 00:35:04 EET 2009
ln -snf /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp
* Installing /mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.tgz ...
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
................................... and so on...

Any ideas???

after this i will try to install the twonkymediaserver because im not satisfied with the UPnP from acer....

Exuse my english. i try to improve it.


Thanks in advance.

Offline

 

#16 2009-12-09 22:18:02

easystorage
New member
Registered: 2009-12-09
Posts: 2

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

Hi all,

I tried it with " HD_a2" instead of "HD_a4" and now it seems to work smile

this is the new logfile:

**** fun_plug script for DNS-323 (2008-08-11 tp@fonz.de) ****
Wed Dec  9 22:07:08 EET 2009
ln -snf /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp
* Running /ffp/etc/fun_plug.init ...
* Running /ffp/etc/rc ...
* /ffp/start/syslogd.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/SERVERS.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/portmap.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/unfsd.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/nfsd.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/LOGIN.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/telnetd.sh ...
Starting /ffp/sbin/telnetd -l /ffp/bin/sh
* /ffp/start/sshd.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/rsyncd.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/mediatomb.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/kickwebs.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh inactive
* /ffp/start/inetd.sh inactive
*  OK

Now i will try to install twonky...smile

Offline

 

#17 2009-12-10 01:28:53

kdw
New member
Registered: 2009-12-09
Posts: 2

Re: Acer Aspire EasyStore & fonz fun-plug step-by-step howto

fonz wrote:

You need a different store-passwd.sh script for the dns-343:
http://nas-tweaks.net/CH3SNAS:Store-passwd.sh

Thanks a lot! I missed that, I guess

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB