DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2010-03-03 04:45:41

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

for optimal performance, you would need to create the partitions on your own

Code:

fdisk or parted
... see below

mkswap /dev/sdd1

mke2fs -j -m 0 -T largefile4 /dev/sdd2

mke2fs -j /dev/sdd4

hd_verify -w

Code:

Disk /dev/sdd: 2000.3 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders, total 3907029168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdd1              64     1060287      530112   82  Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sdd2         3164800  3907029167  1951932184   83  Linux
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sdd4         1060288     3164799     1052256   83  Linux
Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary.

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Code:

(parted) unit s
(parted) print
Model: WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdd: 3907029168s
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start     End          Size         Type     File system  Flags
 1      64s       1060287s     1060224s     primary  linux-swap
 4      1060288s  3164799s     2104512s     primary  ext3
 2      3164800s  3907029167s  3903864368s  primary  ext3

Last edited by timezlicer (2010-03-04 01:38:24)

Offline

 

#2 2010-03-23 05:11:51

rozsalyib
New member
Registered: 2010-03-05
Posts: 1

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

Hello 'timezlicer'
I'm a real newbie in Linux and a dns-323 that I just purchased.

Could you please tell me how the code should change if I have two WD15EARS 's in the dns-323?
Or it might be better to pinpoint a source file/web site that teaches fun_plug related basic Linux commands.

Thanks!

Offline

 

#3 2010-03-23 05:15:48

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

hi,
you can follow my posts in the following link,
there is another guy having problem with linux and has recently been successful following my guide
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=11631.0

Offline

 

#4 2010-03-26 08:59:31

dP21
Member
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 33

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

Do you need to do this if you use standard (non-raid) disks?

Offline

 

#5 2010-03-26 10:19:46

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

if you can live with the write performance impact you can skip these steps
the steps are applicable for standard and in fact any configurations as long as you are using WDxxEARS

dP21 wrote:

Do you need to do this if you use standard (non-raid) disks?

Last edited by timezlicer (2010-03-26 10:20:04)

Offline

 

#6 2010-03-26 14:51:00

dP21
Member
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 33

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

timezlicer wrote:

if you can live with the write performance impact you can skip these steps
the steps are applicable for standard and in fact any configurations as long as you are using WDxxEARS

dP21 wrote:

Do you need to do this if you use standard (non-raid) disks?

I dislike any performance losses, especially given the relatively slow transfer speeds of the DNS-323 that I have.  About how much is the performance degradation, have you been able to quantify it?

Many thanks.

Offline

 

#7 2010-03-27 00:53:32

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3691
http://hothardware.com/Articles/WDs-1TB … Attention/

dP21 wrote:

I dislike any performance losses, especially given the relatively slow transfer speeds of the DNS-323 that I have.  About how much is the performance degradation, have you been able to quantify it?

Many thanks.

Offline

 

#8 2010-04-06 12:18:06

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

Has anyone tried to do this fix and get it running in a raid?  I am in the process right now of trying on my own.  My idea was to do the following:

- Use the GUI on 4 fresh WD20EARS and setup RAID-5
- Next get fun_plugged and check down the DNS sets up the raid and see how my partitions are formed on each drive.
- If needed, unmount the RAID and each individual drive and modify the partitions to make the sector starts divisible by 8
- Then try and restart the RAID-5

Anyone else have any tips on what I should do?  I am still stuck waiting for the DNS to initialize the RAID on it's own first to see how it handles the EARS drives.

Offline

 

#9 2010-04-06 22:26:31

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

I was unable to get the swap partitions to unmount, tried using the minimal telnet fun_plug but i couldn't get it to work, made sure starttelnet.sh was chmod a+x...

in the end, I was able to boot funplug from USB and umount the raid then redo the main partitions to be divisible by 8.   Think there will be a huge performance slowdown with the swap partitions being misaligned?


Edit:

Of course the DNS-343 didn't remount the RAID on reboot... hope it isn't redoing my partitions while it reinitializes/formats....  Will report back later!

Last edited by caust1c (2010-04-06 22:29:20)

Offline

 

#10 2010-04-07 02:55:54

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

you can't unmount swap partition you can only turn swap off, e.g.

Code:

swapoff /dev/sda1

to check what swaps are on

Code:

cat /proc/swaps

caust1c wrote:

I was unable to get the swap partitions to unmount, tried using the minimal telnet fun_plug but i couldn't get it to work, made sure starttelnet.sh was chmod a+x...

in the end, I was able to boot funplug from USB and umount the raid then redo the main partitions to be divisible by 8.   Think there will be a huge performance slowdown with the swap partitions being misaligned?


Edit:

Of course the DNS-343 didn't remount the RAID on reboot... hope it isn't redoing my partitions while it reinitializes/formats....  Will report back later!

Offline

 

#11 2010-04-07 13:07:37

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

Well i got it to work!  Was able to follow timezlicer's directions and repartitioned all 4 swaps and sd*2 partitions to make them start aligned/divisible by 8... Should hopefully be right! 

I reassembled and formatted the RAID 5 and after reading about manually using mdadm on the 323 forum, I got my RAID running and used the 'raidstart' to make sure the right /tmp files were left so it would survive reboot...

Prior to rebooting I checked the web-interface and it was reporting my raid as being healthy and was able to copy back the fun_plug files...

Of course, life can't be so easy... The Raid did not restart upon reboot....

I have no idea where to go from here and now that I can't get it to show up, I can't even boot up with fun_plug to try and fiddle around.  I know the RAID is good and it was reporting and running properly before reboot...

Any ideas what I can do?  I really don't want to go through this whole process again as it took quite a few hours to do and even after giving proper partitions, DNS-343 redoes them when you setup a raid again through the web interface....

ARGH!!!! >tongue  Of course the WD EAD drives are all sold out so I can't even try the easy route, I'm stuck trying to get these 4k bastards to work with my raid... Any hints what to do next?  I could always just hope I never have to reboot... >tongue  I got an UPS at least....

*sigh*

Offline

 

#12 2010-05-01 20:36:07

InBonobo
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

@timezlicer
I bought the 2 TB EARS and was going through your instructions before performing the upgrade. In short, as I wrote at http://www.consumedconsumer.org/2010/05 … -tb-i.html ,  I installed the drives and even run a benchmark test - no problems so far. I will be reading a bit more on 4K, as it is not clear to me exactly how do the need to be partitioned and why - more precisely, should I partition exactly as in your example?

I'm also thinking to mount the new drives under Linux, and partition there with parted, as I need to copy all the files from the RAID anyway. That should not be a problem, correct?


1 DNS-323, HW B1, 2 x 2TB WD Black (WD2001FASS), fw 1.09, fun_plug 0.5
1 DNS-321, HW A2, 2 x 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (currently failed)
Here's my Hacking DNS-323 and DNS-321 NAS Guide smile

Offline

 

#13 2010-05-15 19:06:55

dcmwai
New member
Registered: 2010-05-15
Posts: 1

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

InBonobo wrote:

@timezlicer
I bought the 2 TB EARS and was going through your instructions before performing the upgrade. In short, as I wrote at http://www.consumedconsumer.org/2010/05 … -tb-i.html ,  I installed the drives and even run a benchmark test - no problems so far. I will be reading a bit more on 4K, as it is not clear to me exactly how do the need to be partitioned and why - more precisely, should I partition exactly as in your example?

I'm also thinking to mount the new drives under Linux, and partition there with parted, as I need to copy all the files from the RAID anyway. That should not be a problem, correct?

You can follow you own way as long as the size on the raid paratition is ok.
I've not change the size before but I think it should be ok.

I've recreated the utelnetd-ramdriver version.
Hope that it will help you.

This guide is made for DNS-343
Someone told me that 323 is having on the most important command write_hdverify
Please help to check...

http://docs.google.com/document/pub?id= … _OpLbd4Npg

Last edited by dcmwai (2010-05-15 19:07:56)

Offline

 

#14 2010-05-20 12:32:36

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

in my example, i have used DNS-343 to create the partitions, then resize the partition
i wrote the guide such way as i assume that the user will be having it with brand new HDD and without linux machine
hence, if you do not wish to dig into the details, you can follow the instructions blindly

if you have a linux machine you can create the partition on the linux machine and move the HDD to the DNS-343

as for RAID, someone else already have a guide and it looks good, you can try it

InBonobo wrote:

@timezlicer
I bought the 2 TB EARS and was going through your instructions before performing the upgrade. In short, as I wrote at http://www.consumedconsumer.org/2010/05 … -tb-i.html ,  I installed the drives and even run a benchmark test - no problems so far. I will be reading a bit more on 4K, as it is not clear to me exactly how do the need to be partitioned and why - more precisely, should I partition exactly as in your example?

I'm also thinking to mount the new drives under Linux, and partition there with parted, as I need to copy all the files from the RAID anyway. That should not be a problem, correct?

Offline

 

#15 2010-05-23 06:55:47

BoyBastos
New member
Registered: 2010-05-23
Posts: 2

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

hi timezlicer,

I am new to linux and have dns-323 and 2 x 2TB WD EARS.  I am a bit stuck on the fdsik part.  I was able to telnet to my dns-323 but can't seem to run fdisk.

here is the msg  from my terminal.

jeff@xbmc:~$ telnet 192.168.0.192
Trying 192.168.0.192...
Connected to 192.168.0.192.
Escape character is '^]'.
stdin, stdout, etderr: 0 1 2


BusyBox v1.2.1 (2006.10.30-10:27+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# /tmp/fdisk -lu
/bin/busybox3.dir/sh: /tmp/fdisk: not found
# ./fdisk -lu
/bin/busybox3.dir/sh: ./fdisk: not found


what am i doing wrong? Any help would be appreciated thanks.

PS it didnt even ask me for  5784468 pass it just gave me the #.

i am on the 1.08 fwfordns-323.

my starttelnet.sh:

# improved starttelnet.sh, enabling the filesystems to be unmounted and checked, if need be.

# copy the provided components to a directory on the ramdisk
# the ramdisk is regenerated with every boot, so the copy has no lasting effects at all
# simply copy the two files over
cp /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/utelnetd /sbin/utelnetd
cp /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/busybox3 /bin/busybox3
cp /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp
cp /mnt/HD_a2/fdisk /tmp/fdisk

# create the terminal device as usual
/bin/busybox3 mknod /dev/ptyp0 c 2 0
/bin/busybox3 chmod 0666 /dev/ptyp0
/bin/busybox3 mknod /dev/ttyp0 c 3 0
/bin/busybox3 chmod 0666 /dev/ttyp0

# make a shell link on the ramdisk
mkdir /bin/busybox3.dir/
PATH="$PATH:/bin/busybox3.dir"

ln -s /bin/busybox3  /bin/busybox3.dir/sh

# and start the Telnet service from the ramdisk as well
/sbin/utelnetd -l /bin/busybox3.dir/sh -d



Thanks alot again.

Last edited by BoyBastos (2010-05-24 20:33:08)

Offline

 

#16 2010-05-26 16:12:27

InBonobo
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

BoyBastos wrote:

I am new to linux and have dns-323 and 2 x 2TB WD EARS.  I am a bit stuck on the fdsik part.  I was able to telnet to my dns-323 but can't seem to run fdisk.

Did you login as root?

> login <enter>
type root at the prompt then <enter>
then your password


1 DNS-323, HW B1, 2 x 2TB WD Black (WD2001FASS), fw 1.09, fun_plug 0.5
1 DNS-321, HW A2, 2 x 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (currently failed)
Here's my Hacking DNS-323 and DNS-321 NAS Guide smile

Offline

 

#17 2010-05-27 07:03:56

BoyBastos
New member
Registered: 2010-05-23
Posts: 2

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

thanks InBonobo......

didnt work tho sad

Offline

 

#18 2010-06-03 18:39:29

Opperpanter
Member
From: Eindhoven, Netherlands.
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 89

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

Please note that WD Caviar Green drives like the WD15EARS suffer from the High Load Cycle problem: http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=1 … p;start=10

Offline

 

#19 2010-06-03 21:32:51

Opperpanter
Member
From: Eindhoven, Netherlands.
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 89

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

have two single disks in my NAS. The main disk (HD_a2) is formatted correctly, having 3 partitions. The secondary disk is new. Do I really need the 3 partitions there, or can I just create 1 big (aligned) partition?

UPDATE: I guess the firmware really needs it. Just having one partition will trigger the firmware/web interface to reformat the disk!

Last edited by Opperpanter (2010-06-03 21:45:03)

Offline

 

#20 2010-06-08 14:06:32

InBonobo
Member
From: Toronto
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

I wrote a detailed (step-by-step) fdisk guide for a non-RAID (JBOD) setup at http://www.consumedconsumer.org/2010/06 … ii_08.html

RAID makes no sense for me, but if you want it, dcmwai's guide seems alright.


1 DNS-323, HW B1, 2 x 2TB WD Black (WD2001FASS), fw 1.09, fun_plug 0.5
1 DNS-321, HW A2, 2 x 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (currently failed)
Here's my Hacking DNS-323 and DNS-321 NAS Guide smile

Offline

 

#21 2010-08-21 01:18:38

s2je77
New member
Registered: 2010-08-21
Posts: 1

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

i tried my VERY best to understand the instructions.... but i just can't get it to work...
i have the 2x wd20ears in a DNS-323 on a gigabit network.  upon installing the drives and formatting to raid0, i did a benchmark and i was getting 16MB/sec write and 19MB/sec read.  this is without aligning the partition (cuz i can't get it to work).

i did some reading, http://sd.wareonearth.com/~phil/jumbo.html
then changed the jumbo frame rate from default (disabled) to 9KB.... and now i'm getting 19.3 MB/s write and 31.5 MB/s read.

will i see further speed improvement if i align my partition? what do i have to change from timezlicer's instructions to align my raid0 partition?

thank you

Last edited by s2je77 (2010-08-21 01:23:25)

Offline

 

#22 2010-08-22 02:23:52

timezlicer
Member
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

no you won't
this is a consumer level NAS

Offline

 

#23 2010-08-25 21:21:33

ph4t
New member
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 1

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

Hi,

I have run Intel's NAS Tester before and after the alignment because I obviously wanted to see the effect. The benchmarks are not "scientific" but do provide a better overall picture than the other benchmarks that I have found.

Before:
http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/5407/2tbbefore.th.png

After:
http://img827.imageshack.us/img827/3329/2tbafter.th.png

Offline

 

#24 2010-08-28 14:34:35

dhaka1100
New member
Registered: 2010-08-28
Posts: 1

Re: Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS

I want to use Western Digital Advanced Format Align WD20EARS. But how can do use to it.

thanks,


john

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB