DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2010-06-27 21:55:58

bkamen
Member
From: Central East Illinois, USA
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 80
Website

DNS-343 UPS Support

I have my APCC Smart-UPS 1400 plugged in directly with USB to my DNS-343 and it works fine.

However, I'd like to share the UPS with a linux box as well as my windows workstation.

I suppose if I put in a more complete version of NUT (which I believe exists), I could network-share the UPS just fine.

I also have an APC ShareUPS box.

Right now, I'm just speculating... but..

I'd like to hear from others that have hooked this stuff up in weird fashion.


Anyone?

-Ben


--
Ben - Don't Ask me how I fixed it - I have no idea what I'm doing!
============================================
http://www.benjammin.net/

Offline

 

#2 2010-08-06 04:39:06

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: DNS-343 UPS Support

I tried to get NUT working on a DNS-323 and DNS-343 but have not been able to do so.  Plugging my "Cyberpower 850" into the NAS's did allow it to be recognized, but I could not get the stock version of NUT to play with the other NAS. 

I ended up just using a ghetto solution that when tested seems to work fine.

I keep the NAS plugged into my Win7 box and the handy software works like I'd expect.

The NAS's both have a cron job that pings a router in the house that is not on a UPS but is on the same breaker as the NAS's.  When the NAS gets 3 failed pings (100% lost pings), it initiates a shutdown.  It works well enough and the UPS does what I mainly wanted, protect from intermittent power fluctuations.  Mostly, this saved me from hours of trying to get NUT to work on a budget UPS.  Not elegant but does the job.

Offline

 

#3 2010-08-06 05:29:27

bkamen
Member
From: Central East Illinois, USA
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 80
Website

Re: DNS-343 UPS Support

Ok... I'll try digging a little more. The ping script is interesting though. Maybe that should be the route.

I've noticed my crontab's don't run over a reboot. probably something else I missed.

Just not enough time lately to mess with this stuff. So many other things to do.


--
Ben - Don't Ask me how I fixed it - I have no idea what I'm doing!
============================================
http://www.benjammin.net/

Offline

 

#4 2010-08-06 07:04:21

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: DNS-343 UPS Support

Yeah getting the crontabs to reset it fairly easy, you need to run a script at boot up... (Check if it comes with Fun_plug actually) Here is what I do:

Have this script, ie: editcron.sh set to "chmod a+x" and be in your /ffp/start/ directory... The script is this:

Code:

#!/bin/sh

CRONTXT=/mnt/HD_a2/crontab.txt

# start with existing crontab
/bin/crontab -l > $CRONTXT

# add the Rsync job to execute at 2:05 am
#/bin/echo "5 2 * * * /mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.d/bin/rsync -rlptDv --delete /mnt/HD_a2 /mnt/HD_b2" >> $CRONTXT

# UPS script, check for power to router every 5 minutes
/bin/echo "*/5 * * * * /ffp/share/power.sh" >> $CRONTXT

# install the new crontab
/bin/crontab $CRONTXT

# clean up
/bin/rm $CRONTXT

I actually am pretty sure this comes with ffp, I surely did not come up with this on my own. Just follow the commented out example to add any cron jobs you want.

Last edited by caust1c (2010-08-06 07:07:14)

Offline

 

#5 2010-08-06 07:09:14

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 35

Re: DNS-343 UPS Support

This is what I use to check for power and shutdown the DNS-343 if needed:

/ffp/share/power.sh

Code:

#!/bin/sh

PING=`/ffp/bin/ping -c 3 192.168.221.1 | /ffp/bin/grep % | awk '{print $7}'`

if [ "$PING" == "100%" ]
        then
                echo Power off!
                /sbin/poweroff
        else
                echo Power on!
fi

This will only power down if 3 pings are lost, 100% loss... This allows for the unlikely chance that 1 or 2 pings may be lost on the LAN, even though power is still up and there are no problems.

Last edited by caust1c (2010-08-06 07:11:13)

Offline

 

#6 2010-08-06 07:28:34

bkamen
Member
From: Central East Illinois, USA
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 80
Website

Re: DNS-343 UPS Support

fabulous. Thanks!


--
Ben - Don't Ask me how I fixed it - I have no idea what I'm doing!
============================================
http://www.benjammin.net/

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB