DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-12-22 16:52:03

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Hi All,

I've compiled mediatomb for the dns-323 so I can now watch divx/xvid files on my PS3 and can get away from the rather poor twonky support!

Versions of packages compiled:

  mediatomb (svn revision 1634)
  libmagic-4.21
  libexif-0.6.16
  libiconv-1.11
  mediatomb-0.10.0
  sqlite-3.5.4
  id3lib-3.8.3
  zlib-1.2.3
  spidermonkey (latest cvs as of 17/01/08)
  curl-7.17.1

To Install:

  - Get the tarball from http://www.mediafire.com/?3ndu9sdn3z1
  - extract the file in /mnt/HD_a2
  - cd /mnt/HD_a2/mediatomb/bin
  - LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/mediatomb/lib; export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
  - run ./mediatomb -d -e egiga0 -m /mnt/HD_a2/mediatomb

The config file included in the tarball is configured for a PS3, you may need to change the config file located at /mnt/HD_a2/mediatomb/.mediatomb/config.xml in accordance with the mediatomb website if the config doesn't work for your client. Then visit the web setup page - the mediatomb binary tells you the port when you run it, it should be something along the lines of http://192.168.1.1:49152.


Change Log:

  v0.2:
    - Compiled support for spidermonkey
    - Changed to libid3 as it seems faster than taglib
    - Used latest svn which fixes the -d among other things

  v0.1:
    - Released



EDIT: 22/12/2007 @ 17:47 - changed mediafire url to a new file... files with non standard characters (accents etc) weren't showing up before, fixed iconv.
EDIT: 21/01/2008 @ 17:27 - uploaded version 0.2 and formatted this page a bit better.
EDIT: 22/01/2008 @ 20:24 - added lib curl to the lib list - missed it before.

Last edited by HaydnH (2008-01-22 22:25:10)

Offline

 

#2 2007-12-22 23:31:34

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

HaydnH wrote:

p.p.s: Fonz, I know you'll ask how - I had to compile a newer toolchain using buildroot that has wchar support.

great work. and i've seen you've included a libstdc++ in the package.

ps: the download site sucks.

Offline

 

#3 2007-12-23 02:06:18

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

fonz wrote:

great work. and i've seen you've included a libstdc++ in the package.

Yeah, I couldn't get taglib (or id3lib for that matter) to work with the older one.

fonz wrote:

ps: the download site sucks.

I tried to attach the file in the post but it wouldn't work for some reason - that download site was the first one that I found on google - feel free to put it on your website instead if you wish ;P

BTW - I've been playing around with mediatomb today, the only thing that's annoyed me so far is mp3's that sound fine when played but have errors in don't get added to the database. I guess ideally I'd like to replace the few mp3's that have corruption in but I'd prefer it if they just played anyway - who knows, maybe there's a config option for that, I haven't read the documentation yet as normal.

Offline

 

#4 2007-12-24 13:06:34

frodo
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 259

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

HaydnH,

Have you tried to update the ID3 tags of thoose mp3s?
It is most probably corrupt tags.

Merry Christmas

Offline

 

#5 2007-12-24 14:41:25

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

I run all my mp3's through picard so I know the tags are ok, or standard at least! I'm on holiday for the next week so I haven't had a chance to play around and find the problem... I'd be interested to know how other people have found mediatomb re: mp3's... it might have something to do with me converting flac/ogg to mp3 using ffmpeg over wireless/nfs.

I want to compile ushare when I'm back from holiday also to compare the 2, although if I can get mediatomb working with mp3's better I quite like the web interface.

Offline

 

#6 2007-12-26 20:09:52

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Hello,
   I've just downlooaded the tarball linked aboce and extracted it on my machine (OSX).  I then copied the extractd directory to the location specified on my 323. 
Telnet across to it and ran all the commands listed.   Couple of issues though.

1.  I keep getting told on the command line that "run" is not recognised when I run the last command.
2.  if I remove the run command then I get another error. "./mediatomb: can't load library 'libsqlite3.so.0'"

My 323 is pretty much in a virgin state.  The only thing I have put on there is a fun_plug to enable me to telnet in. 
Any ideas where I'm going wrong?

Cheers,
Raf

Offline

 

#7 2007-12-26 20:25:52

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

The run was just telling you to run that command, sorry I probably should have said run "blah.." to make it clearer.

Re: sqlite3.so.0, make sure you've set the LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable to the mediatomb lib directory by using the command:

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/mediatomb/lib; export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Also make sure the libraries exist in that path.

Haydn.

Offline

 

#8 2007-12-26 20:28:46

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Doh!.  Sorry.  Should have realised.  :-)
The libsqlite3.so.0 file isn't in the lib directory.
I've had a quick google to see i I can find it and plonk it in there but it always seems to be part of an rpm package for linux. 
I'll look into seeing if I can work out how to extract an rpm package, unless you know of somewhere I could get the library yourself?

Offline

 

#9 2007-12-26 20:45:51

bgoedel
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2007-11-24
Posts: 62

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

I found it on my DNS-323 in the chroot'ed debian environment under /usr/lib. Of if not chroot'ed in /mnt/HD_a2/sarge/usr/lib :-)
Don't know whether you could use this...

Bernhard

Offline

 

#10 2007-12-26 20:51:32

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

aha!.
That's that's I'm missing then. A debian install. :-)
I'll install debian environment then. 

Cheers,
Raf

Offline

 

#11 2007-12-26 23:17:01

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Just checked - libsqlite isn't in the tarball as it's included in the firmware - it should already be in /lib - what version firmware are you using? don't you have a /lib/sqlite3.so.0?

Offline

 

#12 2007-12-27 01:23:35

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

1.01.

Not really needed to upgrade on the firmware as it's just sat there as a Network Drive for a while. 
Perhaps a firmware update is in order.   I was little reticent in upgrading as someone somewhere mentioned that the latest firmware doesn't support EXT3 and I'm sure that's the drive format I've chosen.   

What version firmware includes it?
I'v looked in /lib and it's not in there.

Last edited by rafaqat (2007-12-27 01:24:21)

Offline

 

#13 2007-12-27 02:37:35

bgoedel
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2007-11-24
Posts: 62

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Does it help if I attach the version I've found in my /usr/lib of sarge?

Bernhard


Attachments:
Attachment Icon libsqlite3.so.0, Size: 340,080 bytes, Downloads: 698

Offline

 

#14 2007-12-27 15:14:51

fmenard123
New member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 4

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Just to thank people for making this happen. I am now serving HD DIVX files to my PS3 on a 1.03 funplug with the Mediatomb build.

Offline

 

#15 2007-12-27 17:32:00

zeroday
Member
Registered: 2007-07-01
Posts: 136
Website

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

HaydnH wrote:

Just checked - libsqlite isn't in the tarball as it's included in the firmware - it should already be in /lib - what version firmware are you using? don't you have a /lib/sqlite3.so.0?

The Conceptronic CH3SNAS has the libsqlite3.so.0 available using 1.03b5 firmware ..

Checked it with / without Fonz's fun_plug

So I think CH3SNAS users can play with it without the need to do other wierd things ;-)

update:
um installing and starting took less than 2 minutes..
eeks easy
Even streaming MP3 from the internet LOL .. (and FF is working  .. )

Very very kewl ..

Some errors shown in telnet mode like Invalid UTF16 string
server should be able to run in background mode: closing telnet does close server
startup script could be more easy
fixed external port could also be easy cause a 2nd start is adding 1 port higher 49152 to 49153 etc..

Last edited by zeroday (2007-12-27 17:53:45)

Offline

 

#16 2007-12-27 21:00:38

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

rafaqat wrote:

What version firmware includes it?

The standard 1.03 firmware has it, you could also check in /sys/crfs/sbin/ as the file in /lib is a symbolic link to there (file: libsqlite3.so.0.8.6) anyway. Alternatively download the libsqlite file provided earlier and put it in /mnt/HD_a2/mediatomb/lib. (Thanks bgoedel!)


fmenard123 wrote:

Just to thank people for making this happen. I am now serving HD DIVX files to my PS3 on a 1.03 funplug with the Mediatomb build.

No problem fmenard123 smile


zeroday wrote:

Some errors shown in telnet mode like Invalid UTF16 string
server should be able to run in background mode: closing telnet does close server
startup script could be more easy
fixed external port could also be easy cause a 2nd start is adding 1 port higher 49152 to 49153 etc..

Invalid UTF16 string:- the config file has a setting for changing the locale - I haven't had a chance to play with this yet though - but it may help. I've noticed that as standard Bjrk shows up as Bj? which made me chuckle ;P

Background mode:- I have no idea why the background mode flag doesn't seem to do anything, although using the standard command with an & afterwards shouldn't exit mediatomb when telnet finishes - if it does you could put a "nohup" before the command.

startup script could be more easy:- I'm not sure what you mean by that ;P

fixed external port:- There's an option in the config file that will force it to use a certain port.

For more info on the config file have a look at the mediatom website.


BTW: Has anyone else had problems with some mp3's not being detected by mediatomb? If so what percentage of your library? Or is it just me? Knowing would help me solve the problem. ;P

Offline

 

#17 2007-12-27 23:39:04

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Ok.  Cheers for the file attachment Bernhard.  Unfortunately I get further errors:

libc.so.6: aborted attempt to load ./mediatomb!

Looking through the firmware changelogs, quite a bit has changed so I'm wondering if I should even bother trying any of this before upgrading the firmware.  The kernal has changed for one thing so I'm not even sure if stuff compiled against 1.03 FW will work on my box.  Might explain the fact I'm having so many problems.  :-)

My next problem is that if I try to upgrade to FW 1.03 it could potentially ask me to format my HD's as I'm using EXT3 I think. Is there anyway I can check what filesystem I am using?
I tried the command:

./lnx_bin/busybox3 fdisk -l

But that simply gave me this.

   Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1          66      530113+  82  Linux swap
/dev/sdb2              67       60638   486544590   83  Linux

eeek.  Help.  My Unix knowledge is pretty bare.  I'm googling virtually every command so far.  I know what it is I want to do just not how to do it in Unix just yet.  :-)

Offline

 

#18 2007-12-27 23:44:11

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

using mount I get.

# ./lnx_bin/busybox3 mount             
/dev/root on / type ext2 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,nodiratime)
/dev/loop0 on /sys/crfs type cramfs (ro)
/dev/md0 on /mnt/HD_a2 type ext3 (rw)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)

It's EXT3 isn't it?   sad
bugger.  Time to backup, upgrade and restore.

Offline

 

#19 2007-12-28 21:56:38

bgoedel
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2007-11-24
Posts: 62

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

As you never know whether the upgrade to the next firmware will require a re-format of the disks, I bought a 3rd drive additionally to the two ones in the DNS and mounted it into an external USB housing. Funny, because actually I wanted the DNS to be my backup device. Now I'm backing up the backup :-)

Anyway, there was a discussion about whether the RAID1 configuration improves the data safety in another thread of this forum. And I must admit that the guys discussing there are right: If you accidentally delete files or you get a virus somehow, a RAID1 won't save your data. It safes it only in case one of the disks fail.

Thus, backing up the drives regularly (or at least sporadically, as I do) to an external drive makes sense anyway. I connected my 3rd drive directly to the USB of the DNS and mounted it to /mnt/usb. I use rsync -Dlrptv --delete /mnt/HD_a2 /mnt/usb (take care that the USB drive isn't mounted additionally into the /mnt/HD_a2 directory tree - would be somehow recursively...)

About the Unix commands - I'm with you. I do it the same way. :-) BTW, Wikipedia is a good source as well offering sometimes references into the www.

Bernhard

Offline

 

#20 2007-12-28 22:25:54

rafaqat
Member
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 10

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

:-)

Well I updated the firmware to 1.03 and also came to asimilair conclusion over RAID1.  I don't hav anything on it tht I need 24/7 so I don't REALLY need RAID1.  Instead I've set my HD's up as two seperate HD's and I'll be rsyncing from one to the other nightly.  Someone on here has a tutorial on how to do that.

For now.  MediaTomb is working with my XBox using XBMC.  Still can't get the XBox360 to see it though. Both the DNS323 and XBox360 are wired into the same router so I'm not entirely sure where to start looking.

Offline

 

#21 2007-12-29 22:47:04

ronjon
New member
Registered: 2007-12-17
Posts: 3

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

just installed mediatomb this afternoon on ch3snas (no debian chroot needed!) but mediatomb is still indexing my mp3 files. Seems it has troubles indexing 11500 files ?

Offline

 

#22 2007-12-30 23:35:21

TJ1965
Member
Registered: 2007-04-29
Posts: 7

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Hi,

found how to get some odd characters like working.
Just add the following two lines
after the   <import hidden-files="no"> in the config.xml.

  <import hidden-files="no">
    <filesystem-charset>ISO-8859-1</filesystem-charset>
    <metadata-charset>ISO-8859-1</metadata-charset>

TJ1965

Offline

 

#23 2008-01-12 01:31:21

gartylad
Member
Registered: 2007-01-15
Posts: 30

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

Just trying to advance config the organization of files using the optional scripting within mediatomb

When trying I get the "ERROR: MeidaTomb was compiled without js support" during startup.

So a question for -HaydnH- really : Is there any reason why js could not be added during compile ???

Offline

 

#24 2008-01-16 16:02:10

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

gartylad wrote:

So a question for -HaydnH- really : Is there any reason why js could not be added during compile ???

I stated above I hadn't copiled in spider monkey (js), I think I downloaded the package and it wasn't a standard configure/make style package and didn't really want to read through pages of install help to figure out the steps for cross compiling it... it might be easy, it might be impossible - I'll take a look when I get a chance, by the end of the week mayhaps.

Offline

 

#25 2008-01-16 18:00:30

HaydnH
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 187

Re: Compiled & working: Mediatomb!

OK, had a look and SpiderMonkey is a RPITA to cross compile, no configure script, just a Makefile with no obvious options for cross compiling - I had to run make, copy an arm executable to the dns-323, run it, copy the output back to the build system, run make again and repeat a few times... Grrr!

Anyway, now I have SpiderMonkey compiled so I'll try recompiling Mediatomb with SpiderMonkey support soon - maybe even this afternoon.

EDIT: Mediatomb is now compiled with JS support, I'll create a new package when I get a chance - I want to play around with the config file a bit as I want to make the installation as easy as possible and currently there are no magic files (just realized) so libmagic is a bit pointless at present! The new version is about 1.4MB bigger (disk space, not tarball) due to the libjs file - it also uses libid3 instead of libtag as I was playing around with both and didn't realize I was using the wrong one, however they're about the same and this ones about 10k smaller (woo!).

Haydn.

p.s: Does anyone know of anywhere better than mediafire to upload these files to?? I don't have a website at present.

Last edited by HaydnH (2008-01-16 19:26:56)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB