DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-05 08:12:35

danmc
New member
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4

FFP not loading on DNS-323

I just got a DNS-323 and loaded the 1.06 firmware. Then copied the fun_plug script and tarball to Volume_1. Restarted the d-link but the tarball does not unpack. I have searched for info on what to do if you fail this early in the game but have not come up with any info.

Thoughts about what might be going wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Offline

 

#2 2009-01-05 14:17:49

fordem
Member
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1938

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

How many drives do you have in the DNS-323 and how (what sequence) were they installed and formatted?

I believe the tarball has to be copied to the drive in the right bay - normally this is Volume_1, but I believe it is possible, under certain circumstances, to get it as Volume_2.

If you have two separate volumes and they were not installed at the same time, try copying the tarball to Volume_2 - or - swapping the drives from side to side.

Offline

 

#3 2009-01-05 17:05:02

danmc
New member
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

There are two drives in the DNS-323 and they were installed and formatted at the same time as RAID 1 with the bulk of the space going to the RAID partition and a small (10GB) JBOD partition as Volume_2. I have tried moving the script and tarball to Volume_2 but no luck there either.

As I don't have any important data on the NAS yet I'll try reformatting the drives as separate and see how that goes.

Offline

 

#4 2009-01-06 08:53:45

danmc
New member
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

Going to separate drive did not work either. Downloaded the shell script and tarball again and tried on both drives. No luck. Maybe I'll try moving back to firmware 1.05 and seeing if there is luck there.

Offline

 

#5 2009-01-06 11:13:51

mig
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2006-12-21
Posts: 532

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

Does the shell script have an extension (.sh) on it?  If it does, you need to remove
the extension.  Then copy the file "fun_plug" [no extension] to your hard drive, along
with the tar file "fun_plug.tgz" and reboot the DNS-323.

Some browsers (Opera is one, I think?) will add the (.sh) to the "fun_plug" shell
script when you download the file.

Last edited by mig (2009-01-06 11:14:26)


DNS-323 2x Seagate Barracuda ES 7200.10 ST3250620NS 250GB SATAII (3.0Gb/s) 7200RPM 16MB RAID1 FW1.03 ext2 
Fonz's v0.3 fun_plug http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug

Offline

 

#6 2009-01-06 17:26:06

danmc
New member
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 4

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

Ah! That did the trick. I should have caught that. Thanks for the tip.

Offline

 

#7 2009-08-10 00:15:55

jpbennett
New member
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 2

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

I just installed the Fun_Plug tarball.  Telnet is working fine, but I am having trouble setting the password for root and getting ssh to work.
I have followed the process as described in the wiki at http://dns323.kood.org/howto:ffp. 

I get as far as completing these steps:

cd /ffp/start
sh sshd.sh start

Then when I attempt to login via ssh, the session appears to hang and eventually time out. 
To complicate matters, I am not able to login via Telnet either - it asks for a login & passwd, but then appears to hang too.

I am a newbie - any help would be much appreciated.

Pablo

Offline

 

#8 2009-08-10 16:55:24

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

jpbennett wrote:

http://dns323.kood.org/howto:ffp.

Read on, and dont't skip the sections on root user and shells.

Offline

 

#9 2009-08-11 05:42:52

jpbennett
New member
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 2

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

Hi Fonz,

I've read thru the entire How To Guide. I am still unable to get SSH to work. 
What am I missing in terms of the sequence?

Step 1: Set root password

pwconv
passwd
usermod -s /ffp/bin/sh root

Step 2: Store password

store-passwd.sh


Step 3: Enable login for Telnet

cd /ffp/start
sed -i '/flags/ s@^@#@' telnetd.sh


Step 4:  Restart Telnet

cd /ffp/start
sed -i '/flags/ s@^@#@' telnetd.sh
<<Original Telnet session disconnected>>

Start new Telnet session

Step 5: Start ssh

cd /ffp/start
sh sshd.sh start

Step 6: Test SSH login

Terminal displays:
Connecting to Server-1:23 (press Esc to cancel)...
<system remains frozen at this stage>

At this stage I am not able to login to the DNS-323 via Telnet or SSH.

I am somewhat new to Linux and would appreciate any guidance you can provide.


Pablo

Offline

 

#10 2009-08-11 19:53:43

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: FFP not loading on DNS-323

Where did you find these instructions? The wiki clearly says: TEST YOUR CHANGES BEFORE TURNING OFF telnetd
Obviously, your ssh server doesn't work, but you disabled telnet without having tested ssh.
You can restore telnet (see root user section, "Reactivating telnet"), and then investigate the problem (e.g. start syslogd and read /var/log/messages).

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB