DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#101 2008-07-03 21:53:35

panda71
Member
Registered: 2008-07-03
Posts: 5

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Bought a CH3SNAS a week ago. Running it with a Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD753LJ - 750GB in the right spot so far. Works perfectly here.

Panda71

Offline

 

#102 2008-08-23 04:03:28

memebag
New member
Registered: 2008-08-23
Posts: 3

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I bought a DNS-323 and 2 Maxtor Basics SATAII/300 1TB drives on Monday.  All is well so far.

Offline

 

#103 2008-08-28 06:46:59

jesbo
Member
From: Falls Church, VA
Registered: 2008-08-28
Posts: 101

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

May have been posted elsewhere, but I'm running a pair of 1 TB Western Digital Caviar Black (model WD1001FALS-00J7B). So far works well with FW version 1.05.

Last edited by jesbo (2008-08-28 06:49:50)


DNS-323 (H/W ver. B1) |  2 x 1 TB WD Caviar Black (Raid 1) | Corsair Flash Voyager - 16 GB USB | FW 1.08 | fun_plug 0.5

Offline

 

#104 2008-09-09 01:43:55

mailtalk
New member
Registered: 2008-09-04
Posts: 1

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

It's wornikg fine with my 1 TB SEAGATE 32 MB ST31000340AS. FW 1.05.

Offline

 

#105 2008-09-19 09:26:50

joei04
New member
Registered: 2008-09-19
Posts: 2

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Has somebody testet this harddisk: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1500GB SATA II (ST31500341AS)  with DNS-323 FW1.05?

Last edited by joei04 (2008-09-19 09:27:37)

Offline

 

#106 2008-09-21 20:13:10

ocdb8r
New member
Registered: 2008-09-21
Posts: 3

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Just tried and no dice for me.  Both 1.5TB drives show up as 0GB and will not format.  Next step?  Any suggestions?

Offline

 

#107 2008-09-23 14:10:19

wujo11
Member
Registered: 2008-09-16
Posts: 35

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Samsung SpinPoint F1 2x1TB (model HD 103UJ) works great! smile

Offline

 

#108 2008-09-24 07:35:00

KP4
New member
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 2

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

joei04 wrote:

Has somebody testet this harddisk: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1500GB SATA II (ST31500341AS)  with DNS-323 FW1.05?

I just installed one 1.5TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11  SATA II (ST31500341AS)  using the Standard configuration on my DNS-323 running FW 1.05 and all went well!

I had a 200GB Seagate as Volume 1 on the left bay, so I was kind of nervous.  The 1.05 firmware correctly identified the new drive by model and serial number.  However, the installation switched volume numbers, so the new drive is now Volume_1 and the old one is Volume_2. 

I'll have to make some changes to my patchstick setting on my Apple TV, since I have mounted my external movies under Volume_1.  Does anyone know if I also have to transfer over my ffp folders or will my fun packages work in their new Volume_2 folder?

BTW,  it too a long time to format the 1.5TB, so if you have mounted two 1.5TB drives it will take even longer, but I'm sure it will work unless you have a faulty drive.  Mine was stuck at 94% during formatting for about 20 minutes. Best of luck to all others upgrading!

Offline

 

#109 2008-09-24 09:19:12

rkcj
New member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 4

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

@KP4.

Swap your drives around. From the front, Volume_1 is the right hand drive and Volume_2 is the left. I'm guessing that you had your original drive in the left hand slot (as it's logical), with only one drive it would have been labelled Volume_1.

Offline

 

#110 2008-09-25 04:03:10

KP4
New member
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 2

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

@rkcj, thanks!  The swap did the trick.  My fun packages and old media are now on Volume_1, and my new Seagate 1.5TB drive is Volume_2.

Offline

 

#111 2008-09-25 08:43:42

joei04
New member
Registered: 2008-09-19
Posts: 2

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

@KP4  thanks a lot for testing, i've already ordered the Seagate 1,5TB harddisk.

Offline

 

#112 2008-09-25 16:54:01

ocdb8r
New member
Registered: 2008-09-21
Posts: 3

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Update: After KP4's post I retried with 2 1.5TB Seagate drives.  I was only able to get them working using the 2 individual volume settings.  Raid 0 prompted that it had a limit of -2 TB and that the extra would be allocated to a JBOD volume.  After going ahead I ended up with 2 volumes, 1 reported 1.5TB of space and one reported 3 TB of space (which of course made no sense).  I then re-formatted as JBOD and ended up with the same result.  Finally reformatted to use each as it's own volume and ended up with two volumes of 1.5TB each.  I just didn't feel comfortable using the drives in Raid 0 or JBOD with the reported size being off.  Did not attempt Raid 1.

I will note that it took about 45 minutes for each format.  The progress meter quickly goes to 94% and hangs....just hold on and be patient, it will format.

Last edited by ocdb8r (2008-09-25 16:55:16)

Offline

 

#113 2008-09-26 07:32:58

Mold
New member
Registered: 2008-09-17
Posts: 3

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB Hard Drive - 7200RPM, 32MB, SATA-300, OEM RAID 1, Working fine just need to figure out how to get TM to backup to them

Offline

 

#114 2008-10-02 22:10:14

nurunet
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-31
Posts: 44

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

On my CH3SNAS (v. 1.03), two WD10EACS (Western Digital Caviar 1TB Green Power) HDD are working fine.


Conceptronic CH3SNAS FW 1.03, ffp from USB key.

Offline

 

#115 2008-10-23 01:02:37

johnifors
New member
Registered: 2008-10-23
Posts: 1

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I am just trying to configure 2 x 1.5TB Seagate drives. Same issue as noted in earlier post. Called Dlink customer support - they told me to try upgrade to firmware 1.05. Anyone who has any experience with that version? OK to use?

Offline

 

#116 2008-10-27 01:14:21

axelfooly
New member
Registered: 2008-10-27
Posts: 3

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I just put in two seagate 7200.11 1.5TB ST31500341AS into a dns-323 HW rev B1 FW rev 1.05.  I formated it JOBD and got bored when it hit 94% and left.

I noted the same thing with the drive status -

Total Hard Drive Capacity:  2199023 MB
Used Space:  5 MB
Unused Space:  2199023 MB

but since the total = unused (a free 5MB???) I've resolved not to care for now and see what happened when I put a bunch of crap on the drive.  I'll keep you posted.

Offline

 

#117 2008-11-05 16:50:02

BobbyCarbn
Member
Registered: 2008-09-26
Posts: 14

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I used two 1.5 TB Seagates and had the format hang at 94%, I just waited a few hours and then rebooted the device and each drive showed up with no problems.  I then used FunPlug and a crontab job to kick off rsync every night and back up everything on Volume 1 to Volume 2.  I did this with the latest funplug and 1.05.  I hear the new firmware from dlink will allow 1.5 HHDs in Raid 1 so just wait it out if you need Raid 1 support.  If you havent installed funplug yet, give it a shot.  I used this tutorial:  http://nas-tweaks.net/CH3SNAS:Tutorials/fun_plug

Offline

 

#118 2008-11-06 05:24:13

axelfooly
New member
Registered: 2008-10-27
Posts: 3

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

hey - here's it's status:

Volume Name:  Volume_1
Volume Type:  JBOD
Total Hard Drive Capacity:  2199023 MB
Used Space:  113260 MB
Unused Space:  2199023 MB

everything, it would seem, is alright.

Offline

 

#119 2008-11-10 08:10:12

connected
New member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 2

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I've got 2 x Seagate 1.5TB ST31500341AS drives in, running Firmware 1.05, and as written above I can also confirm it IS operational as 2 x individual Standard Disks, and is NOT operational as RAID 1.... as yet.

A number of other posts confirm that Firmware 1.06 will support the RAID 1 on the 1.5TB drives - and am awaiting a returned call from D-Link Lvl 2/3 Tech Support with hopefully confirmed dates of this release.

As per the following link, another guy has also got an ETA of this week or next, so hopefully we're really close:
http://dns323.kood.org/forum/p22643-200 … tml#p22643

If anyone gets any other confirmation, or a successful 1.06 ver, please post back smile

Cheers,
Glenn

Offline

 

#120 2008-11-11 13:53:40

7oby
Member
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 12

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Okay, got a WD1EACS 1TB drive working. That's not news you may say, since we had those reports before in this thread. And especially since I'm using a single drive, which is supposed to work with less potential trouble than RAID1 or JBOD.

News is twofold: I'm using WD10EACS-65D6B0, which is the 3 platter version instead of the 4 platter version mentioned in most reviews and tests. Since both versions are sold I'm giving you an overview which revision has how many platters (without guarantee).

Code:

3 platter:
WD10EACS-65D6B0
        -00D6B0
        -00D6B1

4 platter:
WD10EACS-00ZJB0
        -32ZJB0
        -00C7B0

Second news is: Power consumption on 230V AC idle of entire unit including the spinning drive is 10,6W and 12,6W during access and transfer.

Offline

 

#121 2008-11-11 17:57:14

itcave
Member
Registered: 2008-10-27
Posts: 9

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I'm running
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1000GB Hard Drive - 7200RPM, 32MB, Serial ATA-300

Offline

 

#122 2008-11-12 00:41:35

connected
New member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 2

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

connected wrote:

I've got 2 x Seagate 1.5TB ST31500341AS drives in, running Firmware 1.05, and as written above I can also confirm it IS operational as 2 x individual Standard Disks, and is NOT operational as RAID 1.... as yet.

A number of other posts confirm that Firmware 1.06 will support the RAID 1 on the 1.5TB drives - and am awaiting a returned call from D-Link Lvl 2/3 Tech Support with hopefully confirmed dates of this release.

As per the following link, another guy has also got an ETA of this week or next, so hopefully we're really close:
http://dns323.kood.org/forum/p22643-200 … tml#p22643

If anyone gets any other confirmation, or a successful 1.06 ver, please post back smile

Cheers,
Glenn

I received a call back from D-Link, and sadly no additional news. They say the 1.06 Firmware will be available "sometime between now and Christmas". /joy.

Fun_Plug rsync to the rescue!

Glenn

Offline

 

#123 2008-11-12 17:49:48

PeterZ
Member
From: Bratislava, Slovakia
Registered: 2008-11-10
Posts: 10

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

I'm using 2x 500GB WD RE3, model WD5002ABYS in Raid 1 with ext2. They are running 24/7 over 60days. Work perfectly.   

root@storage:~# cat /proc/scsi/scsi
Attached devices:
Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: WDC      Model: WD5002ABYS-01B1B Rev: 02.0
  Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 03
Host: scsi1 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: WDC      Model: WD5002ABYS-01B1B Rev: 02.0
  Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 03

Last edited by PeterZ (2008-11-12 17:56:08)


DNS-323 2x WD RE3 (WD5002ABYS) SATAII 7200RPM 16MB RAID1 FW1.10 ext2

Offline

 

#124 2008-12-03 19:49:56

TwoZeroWest
New member
Registered: 2008-12-03
Posts: 1

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Hi all. I'm new here but I just wanted to add that today, Dec. 3, 2008 I have spent about the past 90 minutes on the phone to India to learn the release date for the 1.06 firmware that will address the Seagate 1.5 TB drive issues raised here.

I reached level 3 technical support and they conferenced me with programming.  As of this date, the 1.06 firmware will be released in Q1 of 2009 with no specific target date as yet determined.  Additionally, and importantly, they were unwilling to confirm that this firmware update would support RAID operation with the 323 using these drives.  I have a hard time believing that it wouldn't given the dramatic plunge in price of these drives which has resulted in their immense popularity, but perhaps that's just my sense of marketing an old product in a new world.

Drat.  I've got to do something different.  I need the RAID now.  Upsetting that there is nothing on the box that suggests any sort of limitation like this inherent in the device you purchase.

Best of luck to everyone!

TZW

Offline

 

#125 2008-12-18 12:12:59

kfbg
New member
Registered: 2008-12-18
Posts: 1

Re: What SATA hard drives have been tested with the DNS-323?

Has anyone had success using the new Seagate 1.5 TB drives with the DNS-323?  I am on rev 1.05 firmware yet the format process hangs at 94%. :^(

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB