DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2008-03-06 14:21:40

vedeja

Creating/implementing software for the DNS-323

Hello!
Being a rather Linux newbie I sometimes find myself pretty lost in this forum. However, like many, I have funplugged my box and am running the regular stuff like lighttpd with php, custom fancontrol and mldonkey. I am a skilled programmer coming from non-linux environments and, of course, would like to expand my knowledge and start do my own programming (since this 323 gadget has given me an unplanned entrypoint to linux).

I am requesting very basic (and patient) step-by-step information on how to set up my own development environment. I know there is a wiki on how to cross-compile but it's above my head already at that level. Perhaps someone could begin by explaining things like:

* toolchain
* uclibc
* cross-compile
* ARM, etc

Yeah I know the basic meaning of most of the terms in this forum, but it's sometimes hard to understand how they apply to this particular subject.
For example, I have posted in another thread regarding X10 and would like to program om that subject but I don't know how to get there.

/Vedeja

¤ 2 x 500 GB Samsung Spinpoint ¤ FFP 0.5 ¤ Custom fanscript ¤
¤ Lighttpd 1.4.19 ¤ Transmission 1.50 ¤ FW 1.07 ¤

#2 2008-03-06 14:49:24

fonz
Member / Developer
Website

Re: Creating/implementing software for the DNS-323

vedeja wrote:

I am a skilled programmer coming from non-linux environments and, of course, would like to expand my knowledge and start do my own programming (since this 323 gadget has given me an unplanned entrypoint to linux).