DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2008-03-22 15:12:12

jayas
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 151

re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hello,

I found my DNS-323 suffering from insomnia and decided to check out why.  Through the CLI, I found the following processes:

Code:

 
<snip>
 1204 root        280 S   chkbutton
 1224 root       1960 S   /web/webs
 1230 root        228 S   fancontrol
 1257 root        292 S   op_server 3 3 3
 1264 root        304 S   -sh
 1288 root        556 S   lpd Waiting
 1319 root        328 S   crond
 1353 root        336 S   busybox telnetd -l /bin/login
 3856 root       2460 S   smbd -D
15193 root        488 S   /sys/custom/upnp/upnp 0 D-Link Corporation http://www
17249 root        384 S   -sh
17263 root        284 R   ps -a

My question is how come upnp process is running when it is disabled on the GUI web interface?  Could this be the reason why many are reporting their DNS-323 does not spin down disks?

Jaya


H/W=B1 F/W=1.04; RAID1: SAMSUNG HD501LJ T166 (500GB, SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB)

Offline

 

#2 2008-03-22 20:18:36

sjmac
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 222

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

I used to see that happening. I posted my solution in this thread:
http://dns323.kood.org/forum/t1830-DNS- … aming.html

Code:

echo "* Stop native UPnP server" >>${LOGFILE}
kill `pidof upnp` >>${LOGFILE}

echo "* make sure native UPnP doesn't get up by removing the symlink" >> ${LOGFILE}
rm /sys/custom/upnp >>${LOGFILE}

(Also, I've set the root folder for the upnp server to a special empty folder, /mnt/HD_a2/emtpyDir, so even if the upnp server does get woken up it won't spend a long time doing indexing).

You can list all scheduled jobs with crontab -l. After my fix I see this:

Code:

/ # crontab -l
32 2 * * * /usr/sbin/rtc -s
30 2 2 * * /usr/sbin/rtc -c
59 1 * * * /usr/sbin/daylight &
*/10 * * * * /usr/sbin/getdhcp&

What do you see?

Last edited by sjmac (2008-05-02 23:12:23)

Offline

 

#3 2008-03-24 04:40:58

Big Pete
Member
Registered: 2007-07-23
Posts: 6

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

/ # crontab -l
32 2 * * * /usr/sbin/rtc -s
30 2 2 * * /usr/sbin/rtc -c
59 1 * * * /usr/sbin/daylight&
*/10 * * * * /usr/sbin/getdhcp&

and that's without stopping anything.

Offline

 

#4 2008-03-24 05:00:40

jayas
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 151

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hi Steven,

I was quite sure I responded to your post, but on seeing Big Pete's response, it realised mine seemed to have gone astray!  I must have not hit the submit button.

Yes my crontab is the identical to yours (as Big Pete points out) upon reboot and in my case, UPnP is disabled.  So whatever is starting the service, it does not appear to be coming from cron.

Furthermore I do not believe my UPnP proces was scanning the disk because my disk activity light was not on when DNS-323 refused to spin down the disks.

I have not changed anything yet and am still monitoring to see if I can catch the culprit ...

Jaya


H/W=B1 F/W=1.04; RAID1: SAMSUNG HD501LJ T166 (500GB, SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB)

Offline

 

#5 2008-03-24 14:21:02

jayas
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 151

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hello,

Just an update.  I found the light behind square button on today.  Logged on and sure enough I found upnp running.  Killed it and the DNS-323 went back to sleep.

So the question now is what causes upnp to start...

Jaya


H/W=B1 F/W=1.04; RAID1: SAMSUNG HD501LJ T166 (500GB, SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB)

Offline

 

#6 2008-03-24 15:08:01

blahsome
Member
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 157

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hmm... my disk never spins up because of the uPnP process.

Offline

 

#7 2008-03-25 06:44:47

jayas
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 151

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hi Blahsome,

blahsome wrote:

Hmm... my disk never spins up because of the uPnP process.

Confirmed.  UPnP is not the likely culprit because when I did a spot check just now, UPnP was running but both disks were on standby.  So what is starting uPnP???  I am leaving it on for the moment while I do spot checks.

I also found out that the front panel light goes off when the first of two disks (in RAID1) goes into standby mode.  The second disk usually follows in a few minutes but not always.  In other words the light behind the switch off means at least one of the disks is on standby, but not necessarily both.

AFAIK the only way to tell if both disks are on standby is by logging on to it and doing dmesg.

Jaya

Last edited by jayas (2008-03-25 06:45:36)


H/W=B1 F/W=1.04; RAID1: SAMSUNG HD501LJ T166 (500GB, SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB)

Offline

 

#8 2008-03-25 07:39:56

blahsome
Member
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 157

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

jayas wrote:

So what is starting uPnP???  I am leaving it on for the moment while I do spot checks.

Well, it's started by "bin/upnpscript" contained in /etc/rc.sh. The script in turn executes this:

Code:

kill -9 `pidof upnp`
/sys/custom/upnp/upnp 0 "D-Link Corporation" "http://www.redsonic.com" "DNS-323" "DNS-323" "103" &

Offline

 

#9 2008-03-25 08:08:04

jayas
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 151

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hi Blahsome,

blahsome wrote:

Well, it's started by "bin/upnpscript" contained in /etc/rc.sh. The script in turn executes this:

Code:

kill -9 `pidof upnp`
/sys/custom/upnp/upnp 0 "D-Link Corporation" "http://www.redsonic.com" "DNS-323" "DNS-323" "103" &

This explains startup.   Even so, I did not see this process after reboot which suggests somehow that disabling uPnP AV server prevents this process from running.

However it gets restarted again after some time after I have manually killed it.  You can tell from the pid here

Code:

 1200 root        280 S   chkbutton
 1218 root       2176 R   /web/webs
 1226 root        228 S   fancontrol
 1253 root        292 S   op_server 3 3 3
 1259 root        304 S   -sh
 1286 root        556 S   lpd Waiting
 1315 root        328 S   crond
 1350 root        336 R   busybox telnetd -l /bin/login
 8029 root       2476 S   smbd -D
28872 root        488 S   /sys/custom/upnp/upnp 0 D-Link Corporation http://www
30115 root        384 S   -sh
30119 root        284 R   ps

Is there a ps for for embedded Linux that will display parent pid? Any idea what could be doing this?

Thanks.

Jaya


H/W=B1 F/W=1.04; RAID1: SAMSUNG HD501LJ T166 (500GB, SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB)

Offline

 

#10 2008-03-25 10:11:02

sjmac
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 222

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

My guess is that the upnp process has two jobs - keeping files indexed (which might require a lot of disk access when the indexing is happening), and serving files to upnp clients (which would only need disk access when there are clients playing music).

It would seem likely that it is the indexing would cause unexpected disk spin-ups, but why this happens when you've got the UPNP server "disabled" in the UI is a mystery (especially as nothing is registered in the crontab - where else could it be scheduled from?)

I haven't been bothered by the upnp process since I started deleting the /sys/custom/upnp symlink at startup, but before I did that I set the media file location to be an empty folder so that indexing wouldn't take a long time :-) It still annoyed me to see the built in UPnP popping up in the list of servers when I tried to use my media players though.

Offline

 

#11 2008-05-02 23:05:50

kikkeraap
Member
Registered: 2008-03-19
Posts: 17

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

I ran into the same problem. Itunes/upnp is disabled at the backend, but somehow it restarts. Are there any thoughts?

Offline

 

#12 2008-05-02 23:13:03

sjmac
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 222

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

See my posts earlier in this thread.

Offline

 

#13 2008-05-03 09:02:52

jayas
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 151

Re: re: UPnP AV Server disabled but process runs

Hi Sjmac,

sjmac wrote:

I haven't been bothered by the upnp process since I started deleting the /sys/custom/upnp symlink at startup, but before I did that I set the media file location to be an empty folder so that indexing wouldn't take a long time :-) It still annoyed me to see the built in UPnP popping up in the list of servers when I tried to use my media players though.

Stubbornly (in the name of troublshooting) I have yet to take up your suggestion and delete /sys/custom/upnp link.  Guess what, I have not seen this problem since.

I do not watch my DNS-323 as often enough these days.  However I do look at the front panel at least once two to three days and I have never since seen the light behind the square button on when it should be off.  Nothing has changed with the other computers in the network.

So I guess other things happening that you and I have yet to figure out smile

Jaya


H/W=B1 F/W=1.04; RAID1: SAMSUNG HD501LJ T166 (500GB, SATA 3.0Gb/s 16MB)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB