DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2007-02-19 02:46:44

ericwhitney

Successful test of RAID 1!

After all the months of posts with people having problems, I was wary of trusting my DNS-323 in a RAID 1 setup. I've used this unit for close to a month, and as I prepare to delete my original data from other devices I figured I should really run this thing through some thorough testing.

Please note that I have little to no knowledge (or interest) of hacking into this box to really confirm that things are properly working behind the scenes (as described in this previous thread). All my tests are done with normal use of the DNS-323, and may be replicated by anyone with modest computer knowledge.

My specs:
DNS-323 with 1.02b firmware, set to RAID 1, formatted w/ EXT2
Two drives: 500GB Maxtor MaXLine Pro 500, Model 7H500F0
345GB of data (5,148 files with 348 folders, largest file = 1.6GB)

---------------------------------------------------------------
Test 1: RAID 1 Mirroring
Goal: To confirm that data is indeed identical on each drive.

Procedure:
1) Turned off DNS-323, pulled out left drive
2) Turned on DNS-323
3) Checked status via web interface - OK
4) Checked file access - OK
5) Turned off DNS-323, replaced left drive, pulled out right drive
6) Turned on DNS-323
7) Checked status via web interface - OK
8) Checked file access - OK

Conclusion: The data has been properly mirrored to both drives. However, there was never any indication of a drive failure (other than the blue LED light for the drive was off). This is concerning that there isn't any better notification of a failed/missing drive... perhaps pulling a drive out does not properly mimic a failed drive, and that in the case of an actual failed drive the unit would notify you.

Test 2: Resyncing Out-Of-Sync Drives