DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2008-07-30 02:07:59

Brain_of_J

Problem accessing DNS 323 in Ubuntu

I am attempting to use a D-Link DNS 323 with Ubuntu 8.04.
For awhile I had been dual booting into Windows XP and Ubuntu 7 (Gibbon). I was able to connect to the NAS in both Windows and in Ubuntu. On occasion I would have issue connecting in Ubuntu but this usually occurred after the NAS had gone into power saving mode. A quick reboot would fix the issue. I had no troubles (relatively anyways for a few months)

I re-formated my PC after vacation and now only have 8.04 Hardy installed.
I'm unable to connect to the device at all. My router is showing good lights but i'm pretty well out of ideas as i'm fairly new to linux...

any help would be appreciated.

thank you.

#2 2008-07-30 13:55:19

bscott

Re: Problem accessing DNS 323 in Ubuntu

When you say you can't connect at all, do you just mean via SMB (Windows-style) drive shares, or "at all"? Can you get to the web admin interface, or via FTP?  Try to ping the device's IP address, using a terminal (it's the same command as in Windows) and if possible, try accessing it from another desktop or laptop on the network to narrow down the possible problem.
FWIW there's no reason to believe the Ubuntu upgrade is the problem, as I've used my DNS from Windows, OSX and Ubuntu all at the same time without difficulty.  But SMB networking is often quirky for one reason or another, especially when no Microsoft hosts are on your network.

Last edited by bscott (2008-07-30 13:56:40)

#3 2008-07-30 15:25:06

terry_opie

I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 and have no issues.  No issues with 7.10 either, previously to that.  I have ffp installed, along with the required elements to allow me to nfs mount (rather than smb). 

Do you have the volumes mounted?  in /etc/fstab?