DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2008-08-09 20:01:01

borgoe

funplug information request

hi guys,

Sorry i am not experienced at all about the working of the funplug at the dns-323. I just bought one and i want to use it for downloading. Now I download with grabit (nzb files). Does anybody know witch steps i have to take to start downloading?
Where can i find a BASIC userguide for using and installing the funplug??

#2 2008-08-19 08:29:36

bscott

Re: funplug information request

In all honesty, if you need documentation simpler than what's provided, fun_plug may not be for you.  It's a hack, exploiting a backdoor left by the makers of the DNS-323 to enable hobbyists to tinker around, not a finished product intended for use by people who don't really understand what it's all about.  There's no shame in not having this kind of background, but it's smart to know your limits and get a grounding in the basics before stepping out into uncharted territory!

#3 2008-08-19 13:11:30

borgoe

yes your are right, i notiched that it is complicated. Is it possible to help someone installing an nzb downloadprogram via remote control? Or is it to much work?

#4 2008-08-20 06:54:29

bscott

borgoe wrote:

yes your are right, i notiched that it is complicated. Is it possible to help someone installing an nzb downloadprogram via remote control? Or is it to much work?

No idea, I've never heard of them.  But it's less a matter of getting it going than it is of understanding the risk you're taking by fooling around under the hood.  What happens if/when something goes wrong down the road, and the first thing you try to get it going again ends up making matters worse - should whoever sets it up sit down and warn you about every possible failure mode?