DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2008-10-09 00:48:38

Primo Levis

1 quick question before I take the plunge..

Hello to all DNS 323 users,
I hope someone can help me.

I am a touring musician, I tour with a laptop which has a bunch of audio samples in it for live shows.
I want to be able to access my NAS anywhere in the world to download data should any tragic hard drive failure happen to my laptop on the road.

Can the DNS-323 do this?

I know it can in theory, but can it do it reliably?

Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Aaron

#2 2008-10-09 01:44:47

bq041

Re: 1 quick question before I take the plunge..

The reliability is going to be in the infrastructure your setup.

1) First, you will need a reliable Internet connection at the location where the DNS is going to be.
2) You will need an internet connection that allows incoming connections to be effectively established.
3) You will want to have a decent upload speed (outgoing) on the location the DNS is going to be.  For example, a typical 6 Mbps internet connections is asymetrical, it is 6 Mbps incoming but only 0.5 Mbps outgoing.  Some ISPs offer faser and some as slow as 364 Kbps.  Typically to get the same speed in and out, a commercial line is required, which is more expensive.  Not always, so shop around.  The outgoing speed is how you will be getting your data, so the internet connection where you are with your computer is not as important as the one where the DNS is located.
4) If there will be no one around to tend the DNS and your network, you will want to have the whole thing on at least 1 UPS in case the power goes out.  It will also prevent corruption due to a sudden removal of power.