DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2009-01-19 11:12:43

nclody

DNS-323 BetterSamba issue

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie in this field... and I will appreciate your help in customizing my DNS-323.
I've read the article on dns323.kood.org but I get stuck at the first step, "edit the smb.default file (on the dns323)". My question is: how can I access the smb.default file? I can't find it anywhere.. sad

Is there a custom made firmware that i can just apply to get the DNS-323 work with a Domain?

Please help me with this...

Thanks!

#2 2009-01-20 03:15:56

mig

Re: DNS-323 BetterSamba issue

nclody wrote:

Is there a custom made firmware that i can just apply to get the DNS-323 work with a Domain?

Nope.

First you need to install fonz's fun_plug (http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/)
Then you need to telnet to your DNS-323
The smb.default file is in /etc/samba directory, you can edit it from there.

Take a look at this post http://dns323.kood.org/forum/t2648-Gett … Linux.html
for some basic linux help

DNS-323 • 2x Seagate Barracuda ES 7200.10 ST3250620NS 250GB SATAII (3.0Gb/s) 7200RPM 16MB • RAID1 • FW1.03 • ext2 
Fonz's v0.3 fun_plug http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug

#3 2009-01-20 22:53:11

nclody

thank you very much!

#4 2009-01-23 22:47:42

nclody

When I thought that I was finally going to join my DNS-323 into the Domain I discovered that either the BetterSamba howto has a lot of mistakes or I'm doing something wrong... Since I couldn't find information sustaining the first possibility, I assume that It's just my fault...

First of all I have to tell you that I'm using Ubuntu Desktop 32-bit Live CD, version 8.10 (for joining a linux machine into domain) and a Vista PC with putty for telnet to DNS-323. The firmware that i'm using is the 1.06

Here are my exact steps

- I telnet to DNS-323: