DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2010-02-15 12:11:45

caust1c

Given up on UPS control. Simple ping shutdown script?

I have officially given up on UPS control through the FW's NUT or trying to install it on my own.  As a result I have been trying to setup a little cronjob to shutdown my NAS automatically but it does not seem to be working.  I am REALLY new to this so please if anyone can point out what I am doing wrong.

Theory:  If my power goes out, my router is down but DNS-323 is on my UPS.  (My windows box is using the UPS control via USB instead now).  Since my network is down, I wanted a cronjob to run a 'power test' script every 5 minutes. 

I have successfully got my cronjobs to reload on boot up.  I have cleanboot working to 'cleanly' shutdown and reboot by command line.

My crontab:
*/5 * * * * /mnt/HD_a2/ffp/share/power.sh

My script: /mnt/HD_a2/ffp/share/power.sh

Code:

#!/bin/sh

PING=`/ffp/bin/ping -c 1 192.168.221.1 | /ffp/bin/grep % | awk '{print $7}'`

if [ "$PING" = "0%" ]
        then
                echo Power on!
        else
                /sbin/shutdown
fi

So I tried adding an echo of $PING and it did show "0%" when my router was there... I am assuming I have something wrong with my expression as my NAS shuts down every 5 minutes even when it is able to ping 192.168.221.1

What the heck am I missing here?  Thanks!!

EDIT: I admit, much of this script was cut from another one I found so admittedly I don't really know exactly what I'm doing but I it does seem like I'm setting my $PING right as I tested it with a simple echo for the 'else' statement 'echo power off!' and when i supplied an incorrect ip is did report as it should have...  Does it possibly have something to do with the network actually being down and trying to ping so I get a different result?

Last edited by caust1c (2010-02-15 12:17:18)