DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2011-02-09 06:35:47

infinitemonkeys

Advantage of hacking DNS-323

I'm an experienced sysadmin, so I'm confident I can piece through the various instructions to hack the DNS-323.  What I'm wondering is, why?  I've read through much of the site, but can't find any killer reason.

I'm sure there must be one for there to be this entire site on hacking the box and getting it to do extra tricks, but I don't really see much to entice me into the effort.  You can telnet and change iTunes, FTP and other add-ons, but basically telnet is just to configure it and the others are replacements for existing functionality.  I searched the forums and main site but don't see anyone enumerating all the wondrous advantages of fun_plugging and doing all the warrantee breakage.  I'm past the time when exploits for the sake of exploits are fun.

I'm sure there are advantages and hope there is someone on the site willing to take a minute and list them.  Sell me a reason.
And if you do, then I'd also like to read some specifics about whether hacking the NAS can improve file access and transfer rates or other networking tweaks.  Those would definitely be worthwhile.

Thanks

#2 2011-02-09 07:12:55

bjby

Re: Advantage of hacking DNS-323

I guess it depends what you want. If you only want a samba fileserver then you may not have a killer reason. For me it is.
+ NFS server that actually works
+ Nightly backups from one disk to another
+ Http server, nice to have for sharing stuff with others in a very easy way
+ ssh/sftp access to your data
+ fsck to detect and correct disk inconsistencies

Last edited by bjby (2011-02-09 07:19:46)

#3 2011-02-09 07:20:12

FunFiler

For me, it was an excellent bit-torrent client and rss feed parser (Transmisison and Automatic).

I also have a USB drive connected which is not available OOTB.