DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2007-07-14 07:40:29

cyboc
Website

Removing password restrictions

Hello Gentlemen (and Ladies if there are any out there),

I'm new to this forum. I'm also new to the DNS-323. I just got it yesterday and I'm already getting busy hacking it with the funky fun_plug.

Has anyone else been bothered by the password restrictions enforced by the web interface in version 1.03 of the firmware (and I assume earlier versions too)? If you haven't heard yet, the web interface restricts you to passwords between 5 and 8 characters and alphanumeric only (i.e. symbols like $*#, etc, are not allowed). Bummer. Of course, I sent a complaint to D-Link right away. Weak passwords stink.

Anyway, I'm not going to wait around for them to fix it. I've been fiddling with workarounds and have been pretty successful so far. I'm going to share what I have learned and what I have done so far. I'm sure someone smarter than me can build on this.

Some of you may know this information already but in doing some searches of this forum and the wiki, I couldn't find it in writing. So I thought it might be a good idea to share it here.

First, the web pages are located at /sys/crfs/web_page. This directory is symlinked from /web/web in the script /etc/rc.sh. The webpage that enforces the password policy is /sys/crfs/web_page/advanced/user_account.asp. The actual enforcement is done by some JavaScript functions. To fix it, I simply commented out the offending code. Specifically, I commented out the if statement the checks for password > 8 characters and the if statement that checks for symbol characters (I left the minimum 5 character check):

Code:

/*
        if (document.form.f_WEB_PASSWD.value.length > 8)
        {
                alert("The password length cannot exceed 8 characters.");