DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2014-07-10 00:37:49

Compiemunky

Hi, just a few questions?

Hi all, just wanted to sort of give a brief -what I want to do- and see if I cant get a little help with some of it.

I have a DNS323 with 2x 500GB HDDs, currently flashed with Alt-F 0.1RC3, and was considering the RC4 update. but as I was going into doing it, I thought I might as well clean up a bit, because I probably have stuff running I don't need. Just need thoughts and help implementing some new bits (new bits marked with *). I have basic working knowledge of Linux, but I generally use telnet/ssh to do things I cant with the GUI, just me being lazy really.

My basic needs are: *4GB USB with main system files, 1TB Storage only, MiniDLNA from storage for my TV, and *lighttpd on USB for a small project I'm attempting.

The questions are below for anyone interested now:

* 1 USB, for new system files and website, how would I go about setting the USB as the default 'save' for anything the system does?

1 partition 1TB, storage only, so they only spin up when files are being read/written (and fsck I guess), currently has Alt-F system folder? makes drives spin up unnecessarily? (I'm not sure as its tucked away in a corner of my house where I often never venture), if I change file structures(system to USB) will it impact the data?, its not defcon1 important, but I would like to keep it, I might find space and make a copy on my external drive whilst I play with things unless someone says its gonna be perfectly fine ^_^;

MiniDLNA, for some reason this sometimes ignores whole folders, and I have to make a new folder and move the files for it to recognise the files again?