DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2009-03-28 15:45:47

workwilliam

Power Failure - blinking drive lights

Hi everyone,

I've been looking for awhile through the posts, and yes I am also a newbie when it comes to hard drives and NAS.

We had a power outage yesterday, several hours later I realized that this had obviously turned off my 323.  So I turned it back on, and the two Hitachi 750 GB drives I had previously installed in the 323 (and have never had any problems with), their drive lights blink continuously.  I thought maybe it just would take awhile for the 323 to "come back", so I left it doing this blinking overnight (about 4-5 hours).  When I woke up, it was still doing the same thing - seemingly no progress.

I've tried a hard reset, and the 323 still behaves the same.  I can no longer access the 323 drives from any of my computers.

In going into its web-configuration page, it does recognize that there are 2 drives (under the status tab), but the Easy Search Utility only sees the 323 itself, and will not display any drives within it.

I suspect perhaps I need to get the data off the drives themselves in another fashion, then reformat the drives, so that the 323 will "accept" these drives again, in a clean state. 

Again, I am a pretty big newbie, so this is all just my own patchwork speculation.  ANY guidance or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as there are many photos and videos stored on these 2 drives.

Thank you everyone,

William

Last edited by workwilliam (2009-03-28 15:49:30)

#2 2009-03-28 16:10:54

luusac

Re: Power Failure - blinking drive lights