DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2009-06-04 23:50:03

vanfanel

Blast! DNS formatted _wrong_ hard drive!!!!

:sigh:

I bought me a Hitachi drive which required firmware 1.07 (according to Dlink) for proper integration. I upgraded, slapped hard drives, booted up and it asked me to initialize the hard drive - specifically labeling it as the Hitachi 1 TB drive (i also had a WD 1 TB drive). I chose the Hitachi one, pressed the magic button and........ it ate my WD drive - and failed mid format to apparently.

I managed to rebuild the partition table but I can only use Windows utilities (since i am a linux noob) and only can get "raw" format files (so no filenames, no extensions...)

Does anyone have a tutorial for data recovery using Ubuntu LiveCD? I am all but ready to give up on this sad

#2 2009-06-05 10:22:45

luusac

Re: Blast! DNS formatted _wrong_ hard drive!!!!

there are loads of posts on this - it is a well known problem that dlink are working on for the next f/w release (not that that will help you).  search the forum to find what people have used.  I have to say though that I don't think that many people have reported success with recovery tools, and as you have rebuilt the partition tables using windows tools I think that you have even less of a chance - sorry to be so negative.

#3 2009-06-08 05:06:02

kenyloveg

basically i format action can'e be reversed on linux file system, so you may pay a lot of money to data recovery company to get back part of your data...

#4 2009-06-08 12:37:31

igeorge

Welcome to the club

Ditto last week on my 500G Samsung, when adding a new 1TB Samsung.  Pathetic really...

Ian

#5 2009-06-09 05:44:56

vanfanel

Well - thankfully all of it was media, ISOs, music... so not THAT big of a deal. The ISOs are recoverable... but damn what a shi**y situation... oh well, what can I do!