DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2009-02-23 14:32:28

Shades
Member
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 14

Avahi or other zeroconf without optware?

I would be happy if someone could compile avahi or some other zeroconf/bonjour application for fun_plug so the install for a fully functional osx installation would be simpler. To have to install optware seems a bit over the top.

Offline

 

#2 2009-03-19 01:52:30

burn
Member
Registered: 2009-03-08
Posts: 8

Re: Avahi or other zeroconf without optware?

I too would love this

Offline

 

#3 2009-04-01 16:58:17

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: Avahi or other zeroconf without optware?

http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0. … html#avahi

avahi is compiled without dbus, but afaik the macos wiki page creates a static service config, anyway, so it should do. remember to install the dependencies (i.e. libdaemon), and to create users:

see http://dns323.kood.org/howto:mac_osx_users for basic config. note that you might not need the messagebus and netdev users, but only:

Code:

groupadd -g 50 avahi
useradd -u 50 -g avahi -d /no/where -s /bin/false avahi

also, there's no start/ script, yet.

PS: if this package works, it would be great if someone could extend either the macos howto, or add a section to the ffp howto wiki page.

Offline

 

#4 2009-09-07 01:48:08

frodo
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 259

Re: Avahi or other zeroconf without optware?

I have made a startup script if anyone is interested....

avahi.sh

Code:

 
#!/ffp/bin/sh

# PROVIDE: avahi
# REQUIRE: SERVERS

. /ffp/etc/ffp.subr

name="avahi"
command="/ffp/sbin/avahi-daemon"
avahi_daemon_flags="-D -s"
required_files="/ffp/etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf /ffp/etc/avahi/hosts"

start_cmd="avahi_start"

avahi_start()
{
        # need avahi user and group for priviledge separation
        if ! grep '^avahi:' /etc/passwd >/dev/null; then
                echo 'avahi:x:50:50:Avahi Daemon:/no/where:/bin/false' >>/etc/passwd
        fi
        if ! grep '^avahi:' /etc/shadow >/dev/null; then
                echo 'avahi:*:14493:0:99999:7:::' >>/etc/shadow
        fi
        if ! grep '^avahi:' /etc/group >/dev/null; then
                echo 'avahi::50:avahi' >>/etc/group
        fi

        proc_start $command
}

run_rc_command "$1"

Last edited by frodo (2009-09-07 01:54:13)

Offline

 

#5 2009-09-07 01:53:03

frodo
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 259

Re: Avahi or other zeroconf without optware?

I also added a few good services.

smb.service  Samba service

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?><!--*-nxml-*-->
<service-group>
        <name replace-wildcards="yes">%h</name>
        <service>
                <type>_smb._tcp</type>
                <port>445</port>
        </service>
</service-group>

http.service  builtin admin webpage

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?><!--*-nxml-*-->
<service-group>
        <name replace-wildcards="yes">%h</name>
        <service>
                <type>_http._tcp</type>
                <port>80</port>
        </service>
</service-group>

device-info.service  This changes the ICON shown in Mac OS X

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?><!--*-nxml-*-->
<service-group>
        <name replace-wildcards="yes">%h</name>
        <service>
                <type>_device-info._tcp</type>
                <port>0</port>
                <txt-record>model=RackMac</txt-record>
        </service>
</service-group>

Offline

 

#6 2009-09-07 11:49:52

frodo
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 259

Re: Avahi or other zeroconf without optware?

Fonz,

I have run across a bug I believe?

25628     1 avahi    R     1276   2%  99% avahi-daemon: running [DNS.local]

Anyone else seen this?

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB