DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2009-11-30 17:12:21

thebeck
Member
Registered: 2009-11-30
Posts: 54

Netatalk 2.0.5

Hello all,

Netatalk 2.0.5 was recently released (http://netatalk.sourceforge.net/).  Apparently the new version comes with an enhancement to "better" support Apple's Time Machine.  In consideration, does anyone have an idea as to when this version will be packaged into ffp 0.5?

Cheers!

Offline

 

#2 2009-12-01 10:24:03

fonz
Member / Developer
From: Berlin
Registered: 2007-02-06
Posts: 1716
Website

Re: Netatalk 2.0.5

Let me know how it works.
http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0. … l#netatalk

PS: The 2.0.5 package now includes a start script.

Offline

 

#3 2009-12-01 12:25:04

mushanga
Member
Registered: 2009-06-26
Posts: 46

Re: Netatalk 2.0.5

Works like a charm for me till now.
No more "bad function 4F" errors in /var/log/messages!!
seems quicker too.

Don't forget to add options:tm after your TM volume declaration in /ffp/etc/AppleVolumes.default
For example, mine ends like this (2 shared volumes,only 1 for TM):

(...)
# The "~" below indicates that Home directories are visible by default.
# If you do not wish to have people accessing their Home directories,
# please put a pound sign in front of the tilde or delete it.
#~
/mnt/HD_a2/Share "Tiromancino"
/mnt/HD_a2/TimeMachine "TimeMancino" options:tm

Thanks again Fonz, I've once tried to compile it myself from rc sources but gave up because of newer dbd dependance.
Hopefully you know what you do wink

Last edited by mushanga (2009-12-01 12:25:26)

Offline

 

#4 2009-12-07 18:23:31

thebeck
Member
Registered: 2009-11-30
Posts: 54

Re: Netatalk 2.0.5

Thank you fonz...  Works like a charm for me so far.  The "Making backup available" and "Calculating Changes" phases of a Time Machine backup seem a bit snappier.

As a side note, I am using a different startup script to deal with the fact that killing (e.g., reboot, command line stop, etc.) the afpd process does not clean up its pid file.  Is my approach below an okay one?  Are there "better" ways to accomplish the same intent.


Code:

#!/ffp/bin/sh

# PROVIDE:
# REQUIRE:
# BEFORE:

. /ffp/etc/ffp.subr

name="afpd"
start_cmd="afpd_start"
stop_cmd="afpd_stop"
status_cmd="afpd_status"

afpd_start()
{
    if [ -e /ffp/sbin/afpd ]; then
       /ffp/sbin/afpd -v

       export AFPD_CHK=`ps -ef | grep afpd | grep -v grep | grep -v start`
       if [ "${AFPD_CHK}" = "" ]; then
          if [ -f /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid ]; then
             rm -f /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid
          fi

          echo "Starting..."
          /ffp/sbin/afpd -P /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid
       else
          echo "Already Running"
       fi
    else
       echo "No Binary"
    fi
}

afpd_stop()
{
    if [ -e /ffp/sbin/afpd ]; then
       /ffp/sbin/afpd -v

       export AFPD_CHK=`ps -ef | grep afpd | grep -v grep | grep -v stop`
       if [ "${AFPD_CHK}" = "" ]; then
          echo "Not Running"
       else
          echo "Stopping..."
          export AFPD_PID=`cat /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid`
          if [ "${AFPD_PID}" = "" ]; then
             echo "No PID found"
          else
             kill ${AFPD_PID}
          fi
       fi
    else
       echo "No Binary"
    fi

    if [ -f /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid ]; then
       rm -f /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid
    fi
}

afpd_status()
{
    if [ -e /ffp/sbin/afpd ]; then
       /ffp/sbin/afpd -v

       export AFPD_CHK=`ps -ef | grep afpd | grep -v grep | grep -v status`
       if [ "${AFPD_CHK}" = "" ]; then
          echo "Not Running"

          if [ -f /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid ]; then
             rm -f /ffp/var/run/afpd.pid
          fi
       else
          echo "Running"
       fi
    else
       echo "No Binary"
    fi
}

run_rc_command "$1"

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB