DSM-G600, DNS-3xx and NSA-220 Hack Forum

Unfortunately no one can be told what fun_plug is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1751 2011-07-04 16:05:34

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Well, what exactly isn't working?
First you should check if Transmission is running:

Code:

$ ps | grep transmission

(No, the prompt prefix doesn't matter).
If it's not running, start it:

Code:

$ /ffp/start/transmission.sh start

Wait a couple of seconds, then check again if it is running. If not, it apparently crashed.
There's a logfile at /mnt/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon/transmission-daemon.log that might help you to find the problem.
If it is running, ask it something:

Code:

$ transmission-remote -l

It should give you a list of all the loaded torrents (I presume this list is empty for you).
If it doesn't throw an error, Transmission is running just fine.

Now to open the web interface, you have to enter the URL from the first post into your browser:
http://<your NAS IP>:9091/transmission/web/

The last slash is important! Beware that if you changed the RPC port, you have to change it in the URL as well.
Your browser should now ask you for your username and passwort (if you specified one when configuring Transmission for the first time), enter that and it shall present you with the Transmission Web UI. From here you can add/remove torrents and watch their status.

Offline

 

#1752 2011-07-04 16:36:40

Chumby
Member
From: Tasmania, Australia
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 96
Website

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Thank KyleK .... its all working now (was working all the time).  I was viewing the old clutch at http://192.168.1.3/Clutch-0.4/ instead of the URL up in your last post!!! (runnng lighttpd)

Appreciate all your efforts with this...

Cheers
Chumby

Offline

 

#1753 2011-07-04 18:04:01

wiiguy1
Member
Registered: 2010-10-28
Posts: 28

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

KyleK wrote:

wiiguy1 wrote:

when i do

su nobody -c "transmission-daemon -f -g /i-data/2542aae3/transmission/.transmission-daemon -w /i-data/2542aae3/transmission -t -u username -v p0assowrd -a 127.0.0.1,192.168.*.*"


nothing happens

i ahd to replace the folder path because i am on a nsa110

Nothing as in  no output on the screen?
Did you make sure you specified the '-f' parameter to run Transmission in the foreground?
You can check with 'top' or 'ps' if transmission-daemon is running in background.

ok i retriede it and did ps afterwards > this is teh results

http://pastebin.com/0fz7Byd2

nothing happend again

Offline

 

#1754 2011-07-04 23:19:31

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Are you sure that my version of Transmission is compatible with the NSA-110? Running the command should give you at least some status messages.
What happens if you run:

Code:

$ transmission-daemon --version

Does the user 'nobody' exist?

Offline

 

#1755 2011-07-05 04:08:05

wiiguy1
Member
Registered: 2010-10-28
Posts: 28

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

KyleK wrote:

Are you sure that my version of Transmission is compatible with the NSA-110? Running the command should give you at least some status messages.
What happens if you run:

Code:

$ transmission-daemon --version

Does the user 'nobody' exist?

root@nsa210:~# transmission-daemon --version
transmission-daemon 2.32 (12523)


as you co0uld see in the pastebin > http://pastebin.com/0fz7Byd2 < there are some things running under the user 'nobody'

Offline

 

#1756 2011-07-05 09:02:05

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Hm, this is really weird.
Can you try running it as user root?

Code:

$ transmission-daemon -f -g /i-data/2542aae3/transmission/.transmission-daemon -w /i-data/2542aae3/transmission -t -u usersname -v password -a 127.0.0.1,192.168.*.* --log-debug 2>&1

Offline

 

#1757 2011-07-05 16:24:30

wiiguy1
Member
Registered: 2010-10-28
Posts: 28

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

KyleK wrote:

Hm, this is really weird.
Can you try running it as user root?

Code:

$ transmission-daemon -f -g /i-data/2542aae3/transmission/.transmission-daemon -w /i-data/2542aae3/transmission -t -u usersname -v password -a 127.0.0.1,192.168.*.* --log-debug 2>&1

here is the log > http://pastebin.com/PvKAFZJX

Offline

 

#1758 2011-07-05 17:16:47

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Well, this looks good. It shows that Transmission runs fine as user root. For some reason, not so fine with user nobody.
Why that is, I can't really say though, it must be something specific about the NSA-110.

You can continue to run Transmission as user root, but you won't be able to delete any downloaded files via Samba (e.g. from a Windows machine).
To do so, edit the start script (/ffp/start/transmission.sh) to use 'root' instead of 'nobody'.

Last edited by KyleK (2011-07-05 17:17:36)

Offline

 

#1759 2011-07-05 17:53:13

FunFiler
Member
Registered: 2010-05-23
Posts: 577

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

He could create a post download script to change the ownership and permission of the files.


3 * (DNS-323 with 2 * 2TB) = 12TB Running FW v1.08 & FFP v0.5
Useful Links: Transmission, Transmission Remote, Automatic

Offline

 

#1760 2011-07-05 18:16:11

Mijzelf
Member / Developer
Registered: 2008-07-05
Posts: 709

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

wiiguy1 wrote:

KyleK wrote:

Does the user 'nobody' exist?

root@nsa210:~# transmission-daemon --version
transmission-daemon 2.32 (12523)


as you co0uld see in the pastebin > http://pastebin.com/0fz7Byd2 < there are some things running under the user 'nobody'

Those processes are the firmware Apache processes. On the NSA210 FFP is chrooted, and so it uses a different passwd/shadow file. I suggest you to check your passwd file to see if there is a 'nobody' inside.

Offline

 

#1761 2011-07-06 15:12:20

wiiguy1
Member
Registered: 2010-10-28
Posts: 28

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Mijzelf wrote:

wiiguy1 wrote:

KyleK wrote:

Does the user 'nobody' exist?

root@nsa210:~# transmission-daemon --version
transmission-daemon 2.32 (12523)


as you co0uld see in the pastebin > http://pastebin.com/0fz7Byd2 < there are some things running under the user 'nobody'

Those processes are the firmware Apache processes. On the NSA210 FFP is chrooted, and so it uses a different passwd/shadow file. I suggest you to check your passwd file to see if there is a 'nobody' inside.

you mean on the ffp or on the nsa-110 ? (if on the nsa-110 got any direction where i coudl find it ?)


on the ffp i found > nobody:x:99:99:Nobody:/:/sbin/nologin ( it seems it also contains my other users i created on the nsa-110 itself) within \\192.168.1.116\Sony-Storage-Media-010015\ffproot\tmp\etc\passwd

another nobody i found on nobody:x:99:99:Nobody:/:/ffp/bin/false in \\192.168.1.116\Sony-Storage-Media-010015\ffproot\ffp\etc\passwd

Last edited by wiiguy1 (2011-07-06 15:30:59)

Offline

 

#1762 2011-07-06 16:24:43

Mijzelf
Member / Developer
Registered: 2008-07-05
Posts: 709

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Sorry, I should read better. I assumed you were talking about your ZyXEL NSA210, on which ffp is chrooted. I don't know anything about the (Sony?) NSA110.

Offline

 

#1763 2011-07-06 16:44:09

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Hm. Either way, doesn't the use of 'su' necessitate that the user ('nobody' in this case) uses a valid shell?
It being set to 'nologin' or '/bin/false' weirdly explains why the command in question returned without any output whatsoever.

Offline

 

#1764 2011-07-06 17:14:15

lamski
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 13

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

I did find another block list on http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz big_smile

KyleK wrote:

lamski wrote:

I just noticed that the block list http://download.m0k.org/transmission/files/level1.gz is missing. Did something happen to it?

I have it somewhere deep in my head that the Transmission guys stopped providing a blocklist, but for the life of me I can't find any proof for that.
I believe there are other places which produce a compatible blocklist on a regular basis.

Offline

 

#1765 2011-07-06 17:40:34

wiiguy1
Member
Registered: 2010-10-28
Posts: 28

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Mijzelf wrote:

Sorry, I should read better. I assumed you were talking about your ZyXEL NSA210, on which ffp is chrooted. I don't know anything about the (Sony?) NSA110.

that sony is my usb where the ffp is on

and i did mean the NSA-210 :p(no idea why i called it the nsa-110)

Last edited by wiiguy1 (2011-07-06 22:45:08)

Offline

 

#1766 2011-07-08 03:04:39

TylerD004
Member
Registered: 2009-08-17
Posts: 49

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

I've looked through about 10 pages and searched, but came up with nothing before posting..

What are some ways (or settings) that can affect the speed of a torrent?  I have 2.32 and my torrents are typically fine, but one in particular has 100s of seeds and 1000s of leeches and it only downloads at like 5KB/s.. The torrent is very popular and I downloaded it from the trackers website, but it is still very slow..

Any ideas about solutions or ways to speed up torrents?

Thank You

Edit: I just noticed that under the Trackers List.. any trackers that start with UDP do not work, but the ones with HTTP do.. may be a good lead.. Also, the port forwarding option for the Transmission port is open for both TCP and UDP..

Last edited by TylerD004 (2011-07-08 03:11:37)

Offline

 

#1767 2011-07-11 15:49:07

wiiguy1
Member
Registered: 2010-10-28
Posts: 28

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

ok it seems i got it fulle working now big_smile

first i added my nas admin account to the ffp passwd list
then i started transmission with my admin account (THAT WORKED)
then i editted transmission.sh > so that it wont use nobody but admin

and now it all works on the NSA-210

Offline

 

#1768 2011-07-14 03:15:32

g-rock
New member
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 2

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Hi Everyone,

I have been using Transmission on my DNS-323 for a while now, and it has always worked great (thanks KyleK!). I recently shut down my 323 and when I restarted it i found that Transmission wasn't running. Turns out that transmission won't start because it couldn't find the config file. I went to find the file and the config.json file has disappeared (I have no idea why). Reinstalling transmission does not bring the sample config file back.

Could someone please post a copy (preferably a fresh copy) of the config.json file? I was using version 2.31 when this happened, but have since upgraded to 2.32 (but I still can't start it). The config for any recent version would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Offline

 

#1769 2011-07-14 09:35:21

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

I suppose you mean settings.json?
Transmission usually creates a new one if one doesn't already exist. There is no default config.json
I assume Transmission created the config folder somewhere on the NAS's flash, which gets wiped upon reboot.

Just follow the instructions from the first post and do as you would set up Transmission for the first time.
(Of course, the information about which torrents were downloading/seeding, is lost. You'll have to readd all torrents, I'm afraid.)

Offline

 

#1770 2011-07-14 14:15:24

g-rock
New member
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 2

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Hi KyleK,

Yes, I do mean settings.json . Upon further investigation it seems that the settings file in my default installation directory (.transmission-daemon) has become corrupt upon my last reboot. When I list the contents of the directory where it should be I get the following error:

ls: /mnt/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon/settings.json: Input/output error

The file does not show up when viewing through windows explorer, and I can't copy a fresh copy of the settings file into the directory as I get the same input/output error. I think my only option at this point will be to abandon my original install directory and make a new one.

Thanks for your help and for all your hard work bringing us a useful BT client on the 323!

Offline

 

#1771 2011-07-14 15:56:17

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Uh. doesn't "Input/output error" refer to a problem with the hard-drive? I've had the same thing with FFP on a USB stick that was apparently not supported.
Check dmesg to see if there are any hints on the health of your drives.
A disk check might be helpful as well (there's a whole thread on this forum on how to properly test the drives for errors).

Last edited by KyleK (2011-07-14 15:57:03)

Offline

 

#1772 2011-07-18 06:04:05

cheen
Member
Registered: 2011-07-15
Posts: 5

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

I used an older transmission 2.13-1 to install and that worked well for me as I was able to install it properly but I have a problem with curl and it would not start in any way.

I tried checking on some funfiler and non seem to work. Can anyone direct me to a link where I can download curl so that I could get things to roll here? Thank you.

Last edited by cheen (2011-07-18 06:04:25)

Offline

 

#1773 2011-07-18 10:23:18

KyleK
Member
From: Dresden, Germany
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 1178

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

There's link to libcurl in the first post, does it not work?
A newer version of libcurl is available here: http://inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/ex … kages/net/

Offline

 

#1774 2011-07-26 10:20:35

psanduro
Member
Registered: 2011-07-26
Posts: 7

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

where can i find ver 2.33  for dns-323 ? thanks

Offline

 

#1775 2011-07-26 19:05:39

kenlau
Member
Registered: 2010-07-21
Posts: 7

Re: [REL] Transmission 1.3

Yeah, I noticed that 2.33 is out as well. The only reason I went looking for this is I seems to be having some problems with 2.32.

The web interface is not refreshing or displaying the all the torrents. For example, when I click on the Seeding screen, the seeds does not appear unless I refresh the page. When I navigate, say to Downloading, the back to Seeding, then all the seeds disappear again. It is still seeding, but the information does not appear unless I refreshed the page. I reinstall just to make sure I did not do something wrong, but the 2nd install still exhibit the same problems.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2010 PunBB